book cover of The Lost Apothecary
Added by 206 members
 

The Lost Apothecary

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
With crackling suspense, unforgettable characters and searing insight, The Lost Apothecary is a subversive and intoxicating debut novel of secrets, vengeance and the remarkable ways women can save each other despite the barrier of time.

Hidden in the depths of eighteenth-century London, a secret apothecary shop caters to an unusual kind of clientele. Women across the city whisper of a mysterious figure named Nella who sells well-disguised poisons to use against the oppressive men in their lives. But the apothecary’s fate is jeopardized when her newest patron, a precocious twelve-year-old, makes a fatal mistake, sparking a string of consequences that echo through the centuries.

Meanwhile in present-day London, aspiring historian Caroline Parcewell spends her tenth wedding anniversary alone, running from her own demons. When she stumbles upon a clue to the unsolved apothecary murders that haunted London two hundred years ago, her life collides with the apothecary’s in a stunning twist of fate—and not everyone will survive.

Shortlisted for the HWA Debut Crown Award
2021's Most Highly Anticipated New BooksNewsweek
Most Anticipated Books of 2021 Popsugar

'A bold, edgy, accomplished debut!'Kate Quinn, New York Times bestselling author of The Alice Network and The Huntress

'Intriguing… Readers who enjoy parallel historical/contemporary narratives about women’s lives, such as Claire McMillan’s The Necklace or Liz Trenow’s The Forgotten Seamstress, will enjoy the historical details and mystery in this engrossing tale.'Library Journal

'Readers who enjoy Katherine Howe and Susanna Kearsley will be drawn to this promising, fast-paced debut.'Booklist

'A superb debut novel… crackling with suspense, this is an original and compelling story'WI Life



Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"Penner's debut had me completely under its spell. The women of The Lost Apothecary, separated by centuries, seek both revenge and truth in this powerful story. Riveting and utterly original." - Fiona Davis

"Filled with fascinating historical detail... With gathering intensity, author Sarah Penner builds toward a heart-pounding, satisfying conclusion. A skilled, captivating debut that celebrates the strength of women across the centuries." - Kristin Harmel

"Sarah Penner kept me guessing until the last page of this addictive, atmospheric novel... Meticulously researched, The Lost Apothecary is both a cure for idleness and a recipe for intrigue. Prepare to be consumed by this carefully plotted, propulsive debut." - Amy Meyerson

"In The Lost Apothecary, Sarah Penner convincingly weaves three heroines and two timelines into one tale of poison, revenge, and the silent network of women helping other women in a world stacked against them.... A bold, edgy, accomplished debut!" - Kate Quinn

"Dark, clever, and wickedly fun, The Lost Apothecary is a true page-turner. Sarah Penner has given us a puzzle box of women's lives, betrayal, power, and history. It's a book that slyly asks what any of us deserve and if, sometimes, that might not be a little poison." - Erika Swyler

"An intoxicating debut, The Lost Apothecary is a riveting tale of poisons and potions and dark deeds in the name of survival." - Heather Webb


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Sarah Penner's The Lost Apothecary


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors