book cover of Empire of Silence
Added by 1 of our members

Empire of Silence

(2018)
(The first book in the Sun Eater series)
A novel by

 
 
Hadrian Marlowe, a man revered as a hero and despised as a murderer, chronicles his tale in the galaxy-spanning debut of the Sun Eater series, merging the best of space opera and epic fantasy.

It was not his war.

On the wrong planet, at the right time, for the best reasons, Hadrian Marlowe started down a path that could only end in fire. The galaxy remembers him as a hero: the man who burned every last alien Cielcin from the sky. They remember him as a monster: the devil who destroyed a sun, casually annihilating four billion human lives--even the Emperor himself--against Imperial orders.

But Hadrian was not a hero. He was not a monster. He was not even a soldier.

Fleeing his father and a future as a torturer, Hadrian finds himself stranded on a strange, backwater world. Forced to fight as a gladiator and navigate the intrigues of a foreign planetary court, he will find himself fighting a war he did not start, for an Empire he does not love, against an enemy he will never understand.

Genre: Science Fiction

Praise for this book

"Empire of Silence is a rich tapestry of future history and worldbuilding, a galactic-sized story of a hero, a tyrant, but portrayed as a man." - Kevin J Anderson

"A craftsman of rare ability, Christopher Ruocchio lures you into a future filled with danger, action, irony, vaulting prose, and a few, precious dollops of hope." - David Brin

"Empire of Silence packs in action and erudition in equal measure. This is a gripping first installment in a space opera that delivers both high-adrenaline thrills and hard-earned wisdom about the human spirit." - D J Butler

"Empire of Silence is epic science fiction at its most genuinely epic. Ruocchio has made something fascinating here, and I can't wait to see what he does next." - James S A Corey

"Empire of Silence has the sweep and political complexity of Dune (though no sandworms). It builds to a blazing climax, followed by a satisfying conclusion. I recommend the book." - David Drake

"Christopher Ruocchio's Empire of Silence is epic-scale space opera in the tradition of Iain M.Banks and Frank Herbert's Dune, without being a clone of either of them. His is a welcome new voice in science fiction." - Eric Flint

"A richly imagined epic, briskly and vividly told." - R M Meluch


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Deathless
(Deathless, book 1)
Peter Newman
thumb
The Poppy War
(Poppy War, book 1)
R F Kuang
thumb
The Empire of Ashes
(Draconis Memoria, book 3)
Anthony Ryan

Used availability for Christopher Ruocchio's Empire of Silence

Hardback Editions

July 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence (Sun Eater)
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
ISBN: 1-4732-2427-6 / 978-1-4732-2427-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Gollancz
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence (Sun Eater)
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
ISBN: 0-7564-1300-1 / 978-0-7564-1300-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: DAW
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

June 2019 : USA Mass Market Paperback

Title: Empire of Silence (Sun Eater)
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
ISBN: 0-7564-1301-X / 978-0-7564-1301-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: DAW
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence (Sun Eater)
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
ISBN: 1-4732-1827-6 / 978-1-4732-1827-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Gollancz
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


July 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence (Sun Eater)
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
ISBN: 1-4732-1826-8 / 978-1-4732-1826-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Gollancz
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

July 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon   


July 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon AU   


July 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon UK   


July 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon   


July 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

July 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence (Sun Eater)
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
Publisher: Gollancz
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


July 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence (Sun Eater Book 1)
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
Publisher: DAW
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA