book cover of Empire of Silence
Added by 10 of our members

Empire of Silence

(2018)
(The first book in the Sun Eater series)
A novel by

 
 
Hadrian Marlowe, a man revered as a hero and despised as a murderer, chronicles his tale in the galaxy-spanning debut of the Sun Eater series, merging the best of space opera and epic fantasy.

It was not his war.

The galaxy remembers him as a hero: the man who burned every last alien Cielcin from the sky. They remember him as a monster: the devil who destroyed a sun, casually annihilating four billion human lives—even the Emperor himself—against Imperial orders.

But Hadrian was not a hero. He was not a monster. He was not even a soldier.

On the wrong planet, at the right time, for the best reasons, Hadrian Marlowe starts down a path that can only end in fire. He flees his father and a future as a torturer only to be left stranded on a strange, backwater world.

Forced to fight as a gladiator and navigate the intrigues of a foreign planetary court, Hadrian must fight a war he did not start, for an Empire he does not love, against an enemy he will never understand.

Genre: Science Fiction

Praise for this book

"Empire of Silence is a rich tapestry of future history and worldbuilding, a galactic-sized story of a hero, a tyrant, but portrayed as a man." - Kevin J Anderson

"A craftsman of rare ability, Christopher Ruocchio lures you into a future filled with danger, action, irony, vaulting prose, and a few, precious dollops of hope." - David Brin

"Empire of Silence packs in action and erudition in equal measure. This is a gripping first installment in a space opera that delivers both high-adrenaline thrills and hard-earned wisdom about the human spirit." - D J Butler

"Empire of Silence is epic science fiction at its most genuinely epic. Ruocchio has made something fascinating here, and I can't wait to see what he does next." - James S A Corey

"Empire of Silence has the sweep and political complexity of Dune (though no sandworms). It builds to a blazing climax, followed by a satisfying conclusion. I recommend the book." - David Drake

"Christopher Ruocchio's Empire of Silence is epic-scale space opera in the tradition of Iain M.Banks and Frank Herbert's Dune, without being a clone of either of them. His is a welcome new voice in science fiction." - Eric Flint

"A richly imagined epic, briskly and vividly told." - R M Meluch


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Alien Secrets
(Solar Warden, book 1)
Ian Douglas
thumb
Once a Hero
(Serrano Legacy, book 4)
Elizabeth Moon
thumb
Undercity
(Major Bhaajan, book 1)
Catherine Asaro

Used availability for Christopher Ruocchio's Empire of Silence

Hardback Editions

July 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence (Sun Eater)
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
ISBN: 1-4732-2427-6 / 978-1-4732-2427-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Gollancz
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


July 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence (Sun Eater)
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
ISBN: 0-7564-1300-1 / 978-0-7564-1300-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: DAW
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

June 2019 : USA Mass Market Paperback
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence (Sun Eater)
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
ISBN: 0-7564-1301-X / 978-0-7564-1301-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: DAW
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence (Sun Eater)
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
ISBN: 1-4732-1827-6 / 978-1-4732-1827-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Gollancz
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


July 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence (Sun Eater)
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
ISBN: 1-4732-1826-8 / 978-1-4732-1826-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Gollancz
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

July 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon   


July 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon AU   


July 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon UK   


July 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon   


July 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

July 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence (Sun Eater)
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
Publisher: Gollancz
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


July 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence (Sun Eater Book 1)
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
Publisher: DAW
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA