book cover of Empire of Silence

Empire of Silence

(2018)
(The first book in the Sun Eater series)
A novel by

 
 
Hadrian Marlowe, privileged first son of a Duke, was destined for greatness, and he has become a legend. The Sun-Slayer. The Breaker of Sieges. The Crusher of Civilisations. His is a story which defined the course of worlds.

This novel is not that story - not the only laid out in the history books, charting the 300 years of his life. Rather this is Hadrian's story, told in his own worlds. Of being passed over by his father for rule in favour of his younger brother and sent to a military academy against his wishes. Of being kidnapped in transit to that planet and sold into slavery on a planet at the edge of our war against the Cielcen...and of how he used their eventual attack to claw his way back into the dangers and opportunities of politics.

PLEASE NOTE: When you purchase this title, the accompanying reference material will be available in your Library section along with the audio.

Genre: Science Fiction

Praise for this book

"Empire of Silence is a rich tapestry of future history and worldbuilding, a galactic-sized story of a hero, a tyrant, but portrayed as a man." - Kevin J Anderson

"A craftsman of rare ability, Christopher Ruocchio lures you into a future filled with danger, action, irony, vaulting prose, and a few, precious dollops of hope." - David Brin

"Empire of Silence packs in action and erudition in equal measure. This is a gripping first installment in a space opera that delivers both high-adrenaline thrills and hard-earned wisdom about the human spirit." - D J Butler

"Empire of Silence is epic science fiction at its most genuinely epic. Ruocchio has made something fascinating here, and I can't wait to see what he does next." - James S A Corey

"Empire of Silence has the sweep and political complexity of Dune (though no sandworms). It builds to a blazing climax, followed by a satisfying conclusion. I recommend the book." - David Drake

"Christopher Ruocchio's Empire of Silence is epic-scale space opera in the tradition of Iain M.Banks and Frank Herbert's Dune, without being a clone of either of them. His is a welcome new voice in science fiction." - Eric Flint

"A richly imagined epic, briskly and vividly told." - R M Meluch


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Deathless
(Deathless, book 1)
Peter Newman
thumb
The Poppy War
(Poppy War, book 1)
R F Kuang

Used availability for Christopher Ruocchio's Empire of Silence

Hardback Editions

July 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence (Sun Eater)
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
ISBN: 1-4732-2427-6 / 978-1-4732-2427-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Gollancz
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence (Sun Eater)
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
ISBN: 0-7564-1300-1 / 978-0-7564-1300-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: DAW
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

June 2019 : USA Mass Market Paperback

Title: Empire of Silence (Sun Eater)
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
ISBN: 0-7564-1301-X / 978-0-7564-1301-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: DAW
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence (Sun Eater)
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
ISBN: 1-4732-1827-6 / 978-1-4732-1827-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Gollancz
Availability: Amazon UK   


July 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence (Sun Eater)
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
ISBN: 1-4732-1826-8 / 978-1-4732-1826-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Gollancz
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

July 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon   


July 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon AU   


July 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
Publisher: Orion
Availability: Amazon UK   


July 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon   


July 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
Publisher: Recorded Books
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

July 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence (Sun Eater)
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
Publisher: Gollancz
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


July 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Empire of Silence (Sun Eater)
Author(s): Christopher Ruocchio
Publisher: DAW
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA