book cover of Liberation Square
Added by 2 of our members

Liberation Square

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
'A GRIPPING STORY, WITH HEART' BEST THRILLERS OF 2019, DAILY TELEGRAPH

It's 1952 and Soviet troops control British streets.

After the disastrous failure of D-Day, Britain is rescued by Russian and American soldiers. The two superpowers divide the nation between them, a wall running through London like a scar.

On the Soviet side of the wall, Jane Cawson suspects her husband, Nick, of secretly seeing his ex-wife, Lorelei, glamorous star of Soviet propaganda films.

But before Jane can confront them, Lorelei is murdered.

To her horror, Nick is arrested for the killing. Desperate to clear his name, Jane must risk the attention of the brutal secret police in order to discover the truth.

Evading them, her search uncovers a trail of corruption - and the higher it leads, the more dangerous it becomes...
___________

'This richly imagined thriller is set in an alternate past . . . Tightly plotted, tense and set in a chillingly plausible world' Sunday Mirror

'A gripping and well-imagined yarn' Sun


'A gripping murder mystery set in an alternative 1950s Britain . . . One not to miss'William Ryan, author of The Constant Soldier

'A twisting murder mystery combined with a chillingly plausible alternative history of a divided Cold War London. Brilliant' Mason Cross, bestselling author of The Samaritan

'A brilliantly researched, shockingly plausible thriller'Claire McGowan, author of The Fall

'A tantalising alternative world, and a murder mystery that's sure to appeal to fans of The Man in the High Castle, and Fatherland' David Young, bestselling author of Stasi Child

Genre: Thriller

Praise for this book

"A stunningly plotted debut, that drags you at break-neck-speed through a nightmare alternative world that is eerily realistic. A must read." - Angela Clarke

"A twisting murder mystery combined with a chillingly plausible alternative history of a divided Cold War London. Brilliant." - Mason Cross

"A brilliantly researched, shockingly plausible thriller set in an alternative Britain." - Claire McGowan

"A gripping murder mystery set in an alternative 1950s Britain. Rubin's London, split between American and Soviet zones after a disastrous World War Two, is vividly realised and his story is elegantly constructed. One not to miss." - William Ryan

"Liberation Square is a superb and intelligent piece of alternate history. By turns gripping, terrifying and trenchant, it is a remarkably assured debut making Rubin's name one to watch out for in the crowded crime landscape." - Stav Sherez

"Rubin constructs a tantalising alternative world with 1950s Britain riven apart by its own version of the Berlin Wall - and all because the D-Day landings failed. Against this dystopian nightmare, the author overlays a murder mystery that's sure to appeal to fans of SS-GB, The Man in the High Castle, and Fatherland." - David Young


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Make Me
(Jack Reacher, book 20)
Lee Child
thumb
The Time to Kill
(Carter Blake, book 3)
Mason Cross

Used availability for Gareth Rubin's Liberation Square

Hardback Editions

April 2019 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Liberation Square
Author(s): Gareth Rubin
ISBN: 0-7181-8709-1 / 978-0-7181-8709-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Michael Joseph
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

August 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Liberation Square
Author(s): Gareth Rubin
ISBN: 1-4059-3061-6 / 978-1-4059-3061-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Liberation Square
Author(s): Gareth Rubin
ISBN: 0-7181-8710-5 / 978-0-7181-8710-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Michael Joseph
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Liberation Square
Author(s): Gareth Rubin
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


April 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Liberation Square
Author(s): Gareth Rubin
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Liberation Square
Author(s): Gareth Rubin
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Liberation Square
Author(s): Gareth Rubin
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU