book cover of Liberation Square

Liberation Square

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
1952. Soviet troops control British streets

After the disastrous failure of D-Day, Britain is occupied by Nazi Germany, and only rescued by Russian soldiers arriving from the east and Americans from the west. The two superpowers divide the nation between them, a wall running through London like a scar.

When Jane Cawson calls into her husband's medical practice and detects the perfume worn by his former wife, Lorelei, star of propaganda films for the new Marxist regime, she fears what is between them. But when Jane rushes to confront them, she finds herself instead caught up in the glamorous actress's death.

Nick is soon arrested for murder. Desperate to clear his name, Jane must risk the attention of the brutal secret police as she follows a trail of corruption right to the highest levels of the state.

And she might find she never really knew her husband at all.

Genre: Science Fiction

Praise for this book

"A stunningly plotted debut, that drags you at break-neck-speed through a nightmare alternative world that is eerily realistic. A must read." - Angela Clarke

"A twisting murder mystery combined with a chillingly plausible alternative history of a divided Cold War London. Brilliant." - Mason Cross

"A brilliantly researched, shockingly plausible thriller set in an alternative Britain." - Claire McGowan

"A gripping murder mystery set in an alternative 1950s Britain. Rubin's London, split between American and Soviet zones after a disastrous World War Two, is vividly realised and his story is elegantly constructed. One not to miss." - William Ryan

"Liberation Square is a superb and intelligent piece of alternate history. By turns gripping, terrifying and trenchant, it is a remarkably assured debut making Rubin's name one to watch out for in the crowded crime landscape." - Stav Sherez

"Rubin constructs a tantalising alternative world with 1950s Britain riven apart by its own version of the Berlin Wall - and all because the D-Day landings failed. Against this dystopian nightmare, the author overlays a murder mystery that's sure to appeal to fans of SS-GB, The Man in the High Castle, and Fatherland." - David Young


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Gareth Rubin's Liberation Square

Hardback Editions

April 2019 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Liberation Square
Author(s): Gareth Rubin
ISBN: 0-7181-8709-1 / 978-0-7181-8709-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Michael Joseph
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

August 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Liberation Square
Author(s): Gareth Rubin
ISBN: 1-4059-3061-6 / 978-1-4059-3061-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Liberation Square
Author(s): Gareth Rubin
ISBN: 0-7181-8710-5 / 978-0-7181-8710-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Michael Joseph
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Liberation Square
Author(s): Gareth Rubin
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


April 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Liberation Square
Author(s): Gareth Rubin
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Liberation Square
Author(s): Gareth Rubin
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Liberation Square
Author(s): Gareth Rubin
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU