book cover of The Gown
Added by 21 of our members

The Gown

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
From the internationally best-selling author of Somewhere in France comes an enthralling historical novel about one of the most famous wedding dresses of the 20th century - Queen Elizabeth's wedding gown - and the fascinating women who made it.

"Millions will welcome this joyous event as a flash of color on the long road we have to travel." (Sir Winston Churchill on the news of Princess Elizabeth's forthcoming wedding)

London, 1947: Besieged by the harshest winter in living memory, burdened by onerous shortages and rationing, the people of postwar Britain are enduring lives of quiet desperation despite their nation's recent victory. Among them are Ann Hughes and Miriam Dassin, embroiderers at the famed Mayfair fashion house of Norman Hartnell. Together, they forge an unlikely friendship, but their nascent hopes for a brighter future are tested when they are chosen for a once-in-a-lifetime honor: taking part in the creation of Princess Elizabeth's wedding gown.

Toronto, 2016: More than half a century later, Heather Mackenzie seeks to unravel the mystery of a set of embroidered flowers, a legacy from her late grandmother. How did her beloved Nan, a woman who never spoke of her old life in Britain, come to possess the priceless embroideries that so closely resemble the motifs on the stunning gown worn by Queen Elizabeth II at her wedding almost 70 years before? And what was her Nan's connection to the celebrated textile artist and holocaust survivor Miriam Dassin?

With The Gown, Jennifer Robson takes us inside the workrooms where one of the most famous wedding gowns in history was created. Balancing behind-the-scenes details with a sweeping portrait of a society left reeling by the calamitous costs of victory, she introduces listeners to three unforgettable heroines, their points of view alternating and intersecting throughout, whose lives are woven together by the pain of survival, the bonds of friendship, and the redemptive power of love.

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"Embroidering a magical moment in royal history, Robson tells a heartrending story of friendship, loss, love, and redemption." - Leslie Carroll

"In The Gown, Jennifer Robson illuminates with her signature meticulous historical detail and sure voice the story behind Queen Elizabeth’s wedding dress... an unforgettable story of friendship, hardship and hope. Robson has managed to craft a story that is personal and universal, timely and timeless. The Gown soars!" - Pam Jenoff

"The Gown is marvelous and moving, a vivid portrait of female self-reliance in a world racked by the cost of war." - Kate Quinn

"A moving story about the power of female friendship and renewal in the face of adversity. Like the good luck sprig of heather hidden amid the embroidery on Princess Elizabeth’s wedding dress, this story promises secrets and lives that bloom in unlikely ways. Perfect for fans of The Crown!" - Lauren Willig


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Jennifer Robson's The Gown

Hardback Editions

December 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Gown: A Novel of the Royal Wedding
Author(s): Jennifer Robson
ISBN: 0-06-288427-1 / 978-0-06-288427-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: William Morrow
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

February 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Gown: An enthralling historical novel of the creation of Queen Elizabeth's wedding dress
Author(s): Jennifer Robson
ISBN: 1-4722-6267-0 / 978-1-4722-6267-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline Review
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


December 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Gown: A Novel of the Royal Wedding
Author(s): Jennifer Robson
ISBN: 0-06-267495-1 / 978-0-06-267495-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


December 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Gown: A Novel of the Royal Wedding
Author(s): Jennifer Robson
ISBN: 0-06-288788-2 / 978-0-06-288788-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperLuxe
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

December 2018 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Gown: A Novel
Author(s): Jennifer Robson
ISBN: 1-982552-87-5 / 978-1-982552-87-9
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


December 2018 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Gown: A Novel of the Royal Wedding
Author(s): Jennifer Robson
ISBN: 1-982552-86-7 / 978-1-982552-86-2
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


December 2018 : MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Gown: A Novel
Author(s): Jennifer Robson
ISBN: 1-982552-88-3 / 978-1-982552-88-6
Publisher: HarperCollins and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


December 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Gown: A Novel of the Royal Wedding
Author(s): Jennifer Robson
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


December 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Gown: A Novel of the Royal Wedding
Author(s): Jennifer Robson
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon CA   


December 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Gown: A Novel of the Royal Wedding
Author(s): Jennifer Robson
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

December 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Gown: A Novel of the Royal Wedding
Author(s): Jennifer Robson
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


December 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Gown: An enthralling historical novel of the creation of Queen Elizabeth's wedding dress
Author(s): Jennifer Robson
Publisher: Review
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU