book cover of The Gown
Added by 26 of our members

The Gown

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
Perfect for anyone who's captivated by The Crown, The Gown 'will dazzle and delight'(Independent)!



The Gown is an enthralling historical novel about one of the most famous wedding dresses of the twentieth century - Queen Elizabeth's wedding gown - and the fascinating women who made it.

London, 1947: Besieged by a harsh winter, burdened by shortages and rationing, the people of post-war Britain are suffering despite their nation's recent victory. For Ann Hughes and Miriam Dassin, embroiderers at the famed Mayfair fashion house of Norman Hartnell, a glimmer of brightness comes in the form of their unlikely friendship and being chosen for a once-in-a-lifetime honour: taking part in the creation of Princess Elizabeth's wedding gown.

Toronto, 2016: Heather Mackenzie seeks to unravel the mystery of a legacy from her late grandmother. How did her beloved nan, who never spoke of her old life in Britain, come to possess the priceless embroideries that so closely resemble the motifs on the stunning gown worn by Queen Elizabeth II at her wedding almost seventy years before? And what was her nan's connection to the celebrated textile artist and Holocaust survivor Miriam Dassin?

With The Gown, Jennifer Robson takes us inside the workrooms where one of the most famous wedding gowns in history was created to tell a story of women whose lives are woven together by the pain of survival, the bonds of friendship, and the redemptive power of love.

'Robson succeeds in creating a riveting drama of female friendship, of lives fully lived despite unbearable loss, and of the steadfast effort required to bring forth beauty after surviving war' Independent

'A great tale of female friendship' The People's Friend

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"Embroidering a magical moment in royal history, Robson tells a heartrending story of friendship, loss, love, and redemption." - Leslie Carroll

"In The Gown, Jennifer Robson illuminates with her signature meticulous historical detail and sure voice the story behind Queen Elizabeth’s wedding dress... an unforgettable story of friendship, hardship and hope. Robson has managed to craft a story that is personal and universal, timely and timeless. The Gown soars!" - Pam Jenoff

"The Gown is marvelous and moving, a vivid portrait of female self-reliance in a world racked by the cost of war." - Kate Quinn

"A moving story about the power of female friendship and renewal in the face of adversity. Like the good luck sprig of heather hidden amid the embroidery on Princess Elizabeth’s wedding dress, this story promises secrets and lives that bloom in unlikely ways. Perfect for fans of The Crown!" - Lauren Willig


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Jennifer Robson's The Gown

Hardback Editions

December 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Gown: A Novel of the Royal Wedding
Author(s): Jennifer Robson
ISBN: 0-06-288427-1 / 978-0-06-288427-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: William Morrow
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

February 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Gown: An enthralling historical novel of the creation of Queen Elizabeth's wedding dress
Author(s): Jennifer Robson
ISBN: 1-4722-6267-0 / 978-1-4722-6267-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Headline Review
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


December 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Gown: A Novel of the Royal Wedding
Author(s): Jennifer Robson
ISBN: 0-06-267495-1 / 978-0-06-267495-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


December 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Gown: A Novel of the Royal Wedding
Author(s): Jennifer Robson
ISBN: 0-06-288788-2 / 978-0-06-288788-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: HarperLuxe
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

December 2018 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Gown: A Novel
Author(s): Jennifer Robson
ISBN: 1-982552-87-5 / 978-1-982552-87-9
Publisher: HarperCollins and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


December 2018 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Gown: A Novel of the Royal Wedding
Author(s): Jennifer Robson
ISBN: 1-982552-86-7 / 978-1-982552-86-2
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


December 2018 : MP3 CD
thumb

Title: The Gown: A Novel
Author(s): Jennifer Robson
ISBN: 1-982552-88-3 / 978-1-982552-88-6
Publisher: HarperCollins and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


December 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Gown: A Novel of the Royal Wedding
Author(s): Jennifer Robson
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


December 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Gown: A Novel of the Royal Wedding
Author(s): Jennifer Robson
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon CA   


December 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Gown: A Novel of the Royal Wedding
Author(s): Jennifer Robson
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

December 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Gown: A Novel of the Royal Wedding
Author(s): Jennifer Robson
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


December 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Gown: An enthralling historical novel of the creation of Queen Elizabeth's wedding dress
Author(s): Jennifer Robson
Publisher: Review
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU