Lauren Willig's picture
76 followers

Lauren Willig


USA flag (b.1977)

Lauren Willig is a New York Times bestselling author of historical romance novels. Her books follow a collection of Napoleonic-Era British spies, similar to the Scarlet Pimpernel as they fight for Britain and fall in love. A native of New York City, Willig discovered romance novels when she was only six years old, while she was attempting to find books about her idol, Eleanor of Acquitaine.

Willig attended Yale University, where she majored in Renaissance Studies and Political Science, then studied graduate level early modern European history at Harvard University before entering and graduating from Harvard Law School. Willig briefly worked for Cravath, Swaine & Moore, a law firm in New York, while authoring her "Pink Carnation" series of books, until she gave up law in order to focus full time on the series.

Genres: Historical Romance, Historical Mystery, Historical
 
Lauren Willig recommends
thumb
Beneath a Silent Moon (2003)
(Rannoch Fraser Mystery, book 2)
Tracy Grant
"Plot twists, complex characters, and an exquisitely researched historical setting - who could ask for anything more?"
thumb
In for a Penny (2010)
Rose Lerner
"Georgette Heyer watch out! Rose Lerner serves up a sprightly and splendid Regency romance."
thumb
For the King (2010)
Catherine Delors
"A breathtaking chase through the dark alleys of Napoleon's Paris. Delors crafts a riveting historical thriller."
thumb
Out of the Shadows (2010)
Joanne Rendell
"From Mary Shelley's England to the halls of modern academia, Out of the Shadows offers a fascinating look into the infinite possibilities of the human heart."
thumb
Vienna Waltz (2011)
(Rannoch Fraser Mystery, book 3)
Teresa Grant (Tracy Grant)
"Glittering balls, deadly intrigue, sexual scandals... the next best thing to actually being there!"
thumb
Across a Star-Swept Sea (2013)
(For Darkness Shows the Stars, book 2)
Diana Peterfreund
"An imaginative and energetic retelling of The Scarlet Pimpernel-sheer fun!"
thumb
The Jade Temptress (2014)
(Lotus Palace, book 2)
Jeannie Lin
"A deeply satisfying romance set in the midst of a fascinating world of glamour and intrigue."
thumb
A Desperate Fortune (2015)
Susanna Kearsley
"Susanna Kearsley just keeps getting better and better!"
thumb
Letters to the Lost (2015)
Iona Grey
"Letters to the Lost is a powerful debut, one of those rare books that grabs you from the first page and doesn't let go. It's a heart-wrenching, smile-through-the-tears story of love lost and refound - you won't be able to put it down!"
thumb
The Other Side of Midnight (2015)
Simone St James
"No one mixes romance, mystery, and that faint, spine-tingling sense of the supernatural, that curtain lifting in a breeze that isn't there, the hair prickling on the back of your neck, like Simone St. James. Her novels are the perfect combination of classic ghost story, historical fiction, and romantic suspense."
thumb
You're the Earl That I Want (2015)
(Lords of Worth, book 3)
Kelly Bowen
"Fans of Julia Quinn and Sarah Maclean will adore!"
thumb
A Curious Beginning (2015)
(Veronica Speedwell Mystery, book 1)
Deanna Raybourn
"Oh, frabjous day! Deanna Raybourn is back in the Victorian era with a heroine who could give Amelia Peabody a run for her money. No one write parasols, petticoats, and pistols like Deanna Raybourn."
thumb
Secrets in the Mist (2016)
(Gothic Myths, book 1)
Anna Lee Huber
"Calling all fans of Victoria Holt! Secrets in the Mist is a classic gothic with a Regency twist..."
thumb
According to a Source (2017)
Abby Stern
"A compulsively readable sneak peek into the secret lives of Hollywood's glitterati. Ella's spiral into self-awareness reminded me of Sophie Kinsella's Shopaholic--but with A-list celebrities instead of shoes!"
thumb
Becoming Bonnie (2017)
(Bonnie Parker , book 1)
Jenni L Walsh
"A compelling account of a nation and a life in disarray."
thumb
Murder on Black Swan Lane (2017)
(Wrexford & Sloane Mystery, book 1)
Andrea Penrose
"Fans of C.S. Harris take note! In this new, Regency-set mystery series, the artist Charlotte Sloane and the scientist Earl of Wrexford are the perfect mismatched pair of sleuths. A riveting ride through Regency London, from the slums of St. Giles, to the mansions of Mayfair."
thumb
The Way to London (2017)
Alix Rickloff
"THE WAY TO LONDON manages to combine a sense of epic sweep with a intimate look at one woman’s emotional transformation, as the war drives Lucy Stanhope from Singapore to Cornwall to London and finally to the place she belongs. I didn’t want the journey to end!"
thumb
As Bright as Heaven (2018)
Susan Meissner
"Susan Meissner brings the 1918 flu pandemic vividly to life in a mesmerizing tale."
thumb
The Darkling Bride (2018)
Laura Andersen
"Who can say no to an abandoned castle, a mysterious library, a renowned Victorian novelist, a brooding viscount, and a mystery that goes back several generations? Andersen captures the gothic tone perfectly, drawing you into the secrets of Deeprath Castle. . . . Perfect for reading on a rainy day with a strong cup of Irish tea!"
thumb
My Dear Hamilton (2018)
Stephanie Dray and Laura Kamoie
"If you’ve ever wanted to banter with Hamilton or share a dish of tea with the Marquis de Lafayette, open the covers of My Dear Hamiltonand step right in to Eliza Hamilton’s parlor [...] The gang’s all there!"
thumb
The Prisoner in the Castle (2018)
(Maggie Hope, book 8)
Susan Elia MacNeal
"The Prisoner in the Castle had me at ‘a new Maggie Hope mystery,’ but once you add And Then There Were None and a Scottish castle, how could any mystery reader resist? Darkly atmospheric, enchantingly macabre, and as beautifully woven as a clan tartan."
thumb
The Gown (2018)
Jennifer Robson
"A moving story about the power of female friendship and renewal in the face of adversity. Like the good luck sprig of heather hidden amid the embroidery on Princess Elizabeth’s wedding dress, this story promises secrets and lives that bloom in unlikely ways. Perfect for fans of The Crown!"
thumb
The Paragon Hotel (2019)
Lyndsay Faye
"Gangsters and prostitutes, nightclub singers and dodgy cops, an African-American hotel under constant threat of violence . . . Lyndsay Faye drops us right in the middle of the tumult of the Prohibition Era, bringing to life one of the darker times in our nation's history with wit and heart."
thumb
When We Left Cuba (2019)
Chanel Cleeton
"Cleeton draws you into the glamour, intrigue, and uncertainty of the Cuban exile community just after Castro's coup through a heroine who could give Mata Hari a run for her money.... You'll be rooting for Beatriz to change the course of history--and find her own hard-won happily ever after."
thumb
The Widow of Rose House (2019)
Diana Biller
"Take a Joanna Shupe Gilded Age romance, stir in a Simone St. James ghost story, add a pinch of Julia Quinn banter, and, voila! Sheer fun with a satisfying emotional conclusion."
thumb
Meet Me in Bombay (2019)
Jenny Ashcroft
"One of those rare and wonderful books that truly draws you into another place and time, word perfect, pitch perfect, detail perfect... Anyone who truly loves historical fiction should run to buy a copy of Meet Me in Bombay today."
thumb
The Queen's Fortune (2020)
Allison Pataki
"It’s not everyone who’s jilted by Napoleon and winds up queen of Sweden. Allison Pataki provides an intimate portrait of a tumultuous time—and of an ordinary woman who captivated two of the great men of her day and became the mother of a dynasty."
thumb
To Have and to Hoax (2020)
Martha Waters
"A laugh out loud Regency romp - if you loved the Bridgertons, you'll adore To Have and to Hoax!"

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors