book cover of The Black Swan of Paris
Added by 101 of our members

The Black Swan of Paris

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
A world at war. A beautiful young star. A mission no one expected.



'A truly outstanding novel, brilliantly written, that captured me and held me in its grip from page one. The Black Swan of Paris reminds us of the power of love, hope and courage'
Heather Morris, #1 bestselling author of The Tattooist of Auschwitz



Paris, 1944

Celebrated singer Genevieve Dumont is both a star and a smokescreen. An unwilling darling of the Nazis, her position of privilege allows her to go undetected as an ally to the resistance.

When her estranged mother, Lillian de Rocheford, is captured by Nazis, Genevieve is shaken. She knows it won't be long before the Gestapo succeeds in torturing information out of Lillian that will derail the upcoming allied invasion. The resistance movement is tasked with silencing her by any means necessary - including assassination.

But Genevieve refuses to let her mother become yet one more victim of the war. Reuniting with her long-lost sister, she must find a way to navigate the perilous cross-currents of Occupied France undetected - and in time to save Lillian's life.

For fans of Danielle Steele's The Spy, Jane Thynne's Black Roses and Heather Morris' The Tattooist of Auschwitz, this exquisite novel illuminates three women's strength, courage and capacity for unconditional love.

PRAISE FOR THE BLACK SWAN OF PARIS



'Emotional and powerful'
Pam Jenoff, bestselling author of The Lost Girls of Paris



'Beautifully written and completely absorbing. '
Noelle Salazar, bestselling author of The Flight Girls

'An extraordinarily suspenseful, emotional read'
Kelly Rimmer, bestselling author of The Things We Cannot Say

Reader Reviews:

'Perfect! This novel was the first I've read by this author but I will definitely be reading more of her work. It was pacy, exciting, heart-breaking in places, with a truly believable romance sub-plot that was centred around characters I cared about.'

'A high octane read which is a real page turner and captures the heightened tension of the war perfectly. A brilliant read that I would recommend.'

'This is an excellent WWII historical fiction novel and it is for anyone that loves a good plot, suspense, and anyone that loves to read about the impressive underdog of the Resistance in France during the Occupation.'

Robards paints a beautiful capture of the true Parisian Paris during WWII. Her first historical fiction should be praised for the attention to detail, emotional and action packed novel.'

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"Long a master of suspense, Karen Robards turns her formidable talents to the Second World War. The Black Swan of Paris tells of singer Genevieve Dumont, who must navigate a tangled web of torn allegiances, painful secrets and a past that refuses to set her free, as she struggles to save all she holds dear from the Nazis. Boldly conceived and richly realized, Robards establishes herself in a single sweep at the forefront of World War II novels with an emotional and powerful tale." - Pam Jenoff

"A truly outstanding novel, brilliantly written, that captured me and held me in its grip from page one. The Black Swan of Paris reminds us of the power of love, hope and courage." - Heather Morris

"Beautifully written and completely absorbing. Genevieve is a broken but determined heroine in disguise, fooling the terrifying enemies surrounding her as she is immersed in the ugly belly of the Nazi occupation. Tension, secrets, and loyalty drive this gorgeous book until the very last page and I was transfixed by each riveting moment." - Noelle Salazar


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Karen Robards's The Black Swan of Paris

Hardback Editions

July 2020 : USA Library Binding

Title: The Black Swan of Paris (Thorndike Press Large Print Basic Series)
Author(s): Karen Robards
ISBN: 1-4328-8048-9 / 978-1-4328-8048-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2020 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Black Swan of Paris: The heart-breaking, gripping historical thriller for fans of Heather Morris
Author(s): Karen Robards
ISBN: 1-5293-3817-4 / 978-1-5293-3817-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


June 2020 : Canada Hardback
thumb

Title: The Black Swan of Paris: A WWII Novel
Author(s): Karen Robards
ISBN: 0-7783-0933-9 / 978-0-7783-0933-8 (Canada edition)
Publisher: MIRA
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

December 2020 : Canada Paperback
thumb

Title: The Black Swan of Paris: A Novel
Author(s): Karen Robards
ISBN: 0-7783-0966-5 / 978-0-7783-0966-6 (Canada edition)
Publisher: MIRA
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


December 2020 : Canada Paperback
thumb

Title: The Black Swan of Paris: A WWII Novel
Author(s): Karen Robards
ISBN: 0-7783-1107-4 / 978-0-7783-1107-2 (Canada edition)
Publisher: Mira Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


December 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Black Swan of Paris: The heart-breaking, gripping historical thriller for fans of Heather Morris
Author(s): Karen Robards
ISBN: 1-5293-3823-9 / 978-1-5293-3823-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


June 2020 : Canada Paperback
thumb

Title: The Black Swan of Paris: A WWII Novel
Author(s): Karen Robards
ISBN: 0-7783-8829-8 / 978-0-7783-8829-6 (Canada edition)
Publisher: MIRA
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Black Swan of Paris: The heart-breaking, gripping historical thriller for fans of Heather Morris
Author(s): Karen Robards
ISBN: 1-5293-3821-2 / 978-1-5293-3821-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

June 2020 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Black Swan of Paris
Author(s): Karen Robards
ISBN: 1-09-410458-2 / 978-1-09-410458-4
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 2020 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Black Swan of Paris
Author(s): Karen Robards
ISBN: 1-09-410459-0 / 978-1-09-410459-1
Publisher: Mira Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2020 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Black Swan of Paris Lib/E
Author(s): Karen Robards
ISBN: 1-09-410457-4 / 978-1-09-410457-7
Publisher: Mira Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Black Swan of Paris
Author(s): Karen Robards
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   


June 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Black Swan of Paris: A WWII Novel
Author(s): Karen Robards
Publisher: Harlequin Audio
Availability: Amazon   


June 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Black Swan of Paris: A WWII Novel
Author(s): Karen Robards
Publisher: Harlequin Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

June 2020 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Black Swan of Paris: A WWII Novel
Author(s): Karen Robards
Publisher: MIRA
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


June 2020 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Black Swan of Paris: The heart-breaking, gripping historical thriller for fans of Heather Morris
Author(s): Karen Robards
Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU