book cover of Launch Code
Added by 9 of our members

Launch Code

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
'Hugely enjoyable and thought-provoking, Launch Code brings to mind the classic thrillers of Alister Maclean and Jack Higgins. A well-crafted ingenious mystery, tightly plotted, compelling and contemporary, this could well be Michael Ridpath's best novel yet.' - Stav Sherez, author of the Carrigan & Miller series

November 1983: Three hundred feet beneath the Atlantic, US submarine Lieutenant Bill Guth and his fellow officers suddenly receive the order they've long-dreaded - to launch their nuclear missiles in a retaliatory strike against the USSR. But in the unexpected chaos that follows, one person on board lies dead...
Norfolk, England, November 2019: Bill is celebrating Thanksgiving with his four daughters and his English son-in-law when they are interrupted by a historian who turns up unannounced to ask about a near-apocalyptic incident back in 1983. And the death that prevented it. Bill smiles but does not respond – the details are classified – and the historian leaves, unenlightened. That night, the historian is brutally murdered in the local pub.

Bill and his family are thrown under suspicion. What happened all those years ago? Just how much is Bill to blame for events in the past, and indeed the present? As the layers of history reveal themselves, it becomes clear there is a killer at work who will stop at nothing to keep the secrets of 1983 where they belong...
'Deadly state secrets and deadlier family secrets - perfectly crafted, scrupulously researched Launch Code weaves an ingeniously dark and tangled web that will keep you gripped and guessing to the very end. Ridpath is one of the best thriller writers around.' - Craig Russell, author of The Devil Aspect

Genre: Thriller

Praise for this book

"Launch Code is seamlessly smart and horribly convincing. Ridpath shifts effortlessly between the paranoid claustrophobia of Cold War subs and the resonances of nuclear near-disaster in the present day, telling a tale that kept me gripped and guessing to the very end. An effortless slice of storytelling from one of the genre's deftest exponents." - Tom Chatfield

"Ridpath is a singular writer and a brave one, because he takes his novels to so many different places, each immaculately researched." - Frances Fyfield

"Deadly state secrets and deadlier family secrets - perfectly crafted, scrupulously researched Launch Code weaves an ingeniously dark and tangled web that will keep you gripped and guessing to the very end. Ridpath is one of the best thriller writers around." - Craig Russell

"Taut, gripping and relevant - the secret history of a narrowly-avoided nuclear Armageddon form the background to this classic thriller." - William Ryan

"Hugely enjoyable and thought-provoking, Launch Code brings to mind the classic thrillers of Alister Maclean and Jack Higgins. A well-crafted ingenious mystery, tightly plotted, compelling and contemporary, this could well be Michael Ridpath's best novel yet." - Stav Sherez


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Nomad
(Marc Dane, book 1)
James Swallow

Used availability for Michael Ridpath's Launch Code

Paperback Editions

August 2020 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Launch Code
Author(s): Michael Ridpath
ISBN: 1-78649-701-8 / 978-1-78649-701-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


November 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Launch Code
Author(s): Michael Ridpath
ISBN: 1-9997655-2-4 / 978-1-9997655-2-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Yarmer Head
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


November 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Launch Code
Author(s): Michael Ridpath
ISBN: 1-78649-699-2 / 978-1-78649-699-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

December 2019 : UK Audio CD

Title: Launch Code
Author(s): Michael Ridpath
ISBN: 1-4450-8564-X / 978-1-4450-8564-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: ISIS Audio Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


December 2019 : UK Audio CD

Title: Launch Code
Author(s): Michael Ridpath
ISBN: 1-4450-8565-8 / 978-1-4450-8565-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: ISIS Audio Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


December 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Launch Code
Author(s): Michael Ridpath
Publisher: Isis Publishing Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


December 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Launch Code
Author(s): Michael Ridpath
Publisher: Isis Publishing Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


December 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Launch Code
Author(s): Michael Ridpath
Publisher: Isis Publishing Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

November 2019 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Launch Code
Author(s): Michael Ridpath
Publisher: Yarmer Head
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


November 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Launch Code: Perfect for fans of Mark Dawson and Mark Billingham
Author(s): Michael Ridpath
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU