book cover of The Confession
Added by 28 of our members

The Confession

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
You find out who did it on the very first page. On the last page, you'll find out why in this expertly plotted, “enthralling” (J. P. Delaney) psychological suspense novel from an internationally bestselling author.

Late one night a man walks into the luxurious home of disgraced banker Harry McNamara and his wife Julie. And when the man launches an unspeakably brutal attack on Harry, a horror-struck Julie, frozen by fear, watches her husband die.

Just one hour later, the attacker, J. P. Carney hands himself into the police and confesses to beating Harry to death. Except he also claims that the assault was not premeditated and that he didn’t know the identity of his victim. With a man as notorious as Harry McNamara, who was just found innocent in a highly sensationalized fraud trial, the detectives cannot help but wonder: Was this really a random act of violence? Was Julie really powerless to stop JP? When Harry’s many sins are unveiled to include corruption, greed, and betrayal, nothing is for sure.

This gripping psychological thriller will have you questioning, who—of Harry, Julie and JP—is really the guilty one? And is Carney's surrender driven by a guilty conscience or is his confession a calculated move in a deadly game? Brilliant and ice-pick sharp, The Confession is perfect for fans of B. A. Paris and Fiona Barton.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Here is my confession: I've never read Jo Spain before but now I'll be buying all of her books. The Confession is brutal and brilliant." - Fiona Cummins

"Enthralling - Spain dissects her characters' secrets with razor-sharp precision." - J P Delaney

"Has you addicted from the very first page. I found it impossible to put down." - Michelle Frances

"An absolute cracker of a book, compulsive, deviously plotted and intense - I will be recommending this to everyone." - Elizabeth Haynes

"Loved it! Fabulous characters, superbly written, twists, turns & ends with a punch." - Amanda Jennings

"I loved this twisty slice of domestic noir." - Claire McGowan

"I can't praise The Confession enough. Brilliant writing, great story . . . a really cracking read." - B A Paris

"Jo Spain is such a talent. The Confession had me in its thrall from the first page, revealing the dark side of the Celtic Tiger." - Sarah Ward

"The Confession is jaw-dropping. Clever. Addictive. Beautifully drawn characters. Masterful storytelling." - Chris Whitaker


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Darkest Evening
(Vera Stanhope, book 9)
Ann Cleeves
thumb
The Crossing Places
(Ruth Galloway Mystery, book 1)
Elly Griffiths

Used availability for Jo Spain's The Confession

Hardback Editions

September 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Confession: A Novel
Author(s): Jo Spain
ISBN: 1-68331-620-7 / 978-1-68331-620-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: The Confession: The addictive number one bestseller
Author(s): Jo Spain
ISBN: 1-78648-836-1 / 978-1-78648-836-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

August 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Confession
Author(s): Jo Spain
ISBN: 1-78648-837-X / 978-1-78648-837-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Confession: A Novel
Author(s): Jo Spain
ISBN: 1-68331-923-0 / 978-1-68331-923-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Confession: The addictive number one bestseller
Author(s): Jo Spain
ISBN: 1-78648-839-6 / 978-1-78648-839-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

September 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Confession
Author(s): Jo Spain
ISBN: 1-974975-60-6 / 978-1-974975-60-0
Publisher: Dreamscape Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


September 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Confession
Author(s): Jo Spain
ISBN: 1-974975-64-9 / 978-1-974975-64-8
Publisher: Dreamscape Media
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Confession
Author(s): Jo Spain
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon   


August 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Confession
Author(s): Jo Spain
Publisher: Dreamscape Media, LLC
Availability: Amazon CA   


January 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Confession
Author(s): Jo Spain
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon   


January 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Confession
Author(s): Jo Spain
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon AU   


January 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Confession
Author(s): Jo Spain
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

September 2018 : USA Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Confession: A Novel
Author(s): Jo Spain
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon   


January 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Confession: An addictive psychological thriller with shocking twists and turns
Author(s): Jo Spain
Publisher: Quercus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU