Ruth Plumly Thompson's picture

Ruth Plumly Thompson

USA flag (1891 - 1976)

An avid reader of Baum's books and a lifelong children's writer, Thompson was born in Philadelphia, Pennsylvania and began her writing career in 1914 when she took a job with the Philadelphia Public Ledger; she wrote a weekly children's column for the newspaper. She had already published her first children's book, The Perhappsy Chaps, and her second, The Princess of Cozytown, was pending publication when William Lee, vice president of Baum's publisher Reilly & Lee, solicited Thompson to continue the Oz series. (Rumors among fans that Thompson was Baum's niece were untrue.) Between 1921 and 1939, she wrote one Oz book a year. (Thompson was the primary supporter of her widowed mother and invalid sister, so that the annual income from the Oz books was important for her financial circumstances.)

Genres: Children's Fiction
   The Wish Express (2007)
Series contributed to
   15. The Royal Book of Oz (1921)
   16. Kabumpo in Oz (1922)
   17. The Cowardly Lion of Oz (1923)
   18. Grampa in Oz (1924)
   19. The Lost King of Oz (1925)
   20. The Hungry Tiger of Oz (1926)
   21. The Gnome King of Oz (1927)
   22. The Giant Horse of Oz (1928)
   23. Jack Pumpkinhead of Oz (1929)
   24. The Yellow Knight of Oz (1930)
   25. Pirates in Oz (1931)
   26. The Purple Prince of Oz (1932)
   27. Ojo in Oz (1933)
   28. Speedy in Oz (1934)
   29. The Wishing Horse of Oz (1935)
   30. Captain Salt in Oz (1936)
   31. Handy Mandy in Oz (1937)
   32. The Silver Princess in Oz (1938)
   33. Ozoplaning With the Wizard of Oz (1939)
   41. Yankee in Oz (1972)
   42. The Enchanted Island of Oz (1976)
no image available

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors