book cover of Where the Forest Meets the Stars
Added by 8 of our members

Where the Forest Meets the Stars

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
An Amazon Charts, Wall Street Journal, and Washington Post bestseller.

In this gorgeously stunning debut, a mysterious child teaches two strangers how to love and trust again.

After the loss of her mother and her own battle with breast cancer, Joanna Teale returns to her graduate research on nesting birds in rural Illinois, determined to prove that her recent hardships have not broken her. She throws herself into her work from dusk to dawn, until her solitary routine is disrupted by the appearance of a mysterious child who shows up at her cabin barefoot and covered in bruises.

The girl calls herself Ursa, and she claims to have been sent from the stars to witness five miracles. With concerns about the child's home situation, Jo reluctantly agrees to let her stay - just until she learns more about Ursa's past.

Jo enlists the help of her reclusive neighbor, Gabriel Nash, to solve the mystery of the charming child. But the more time they spend together, the more questions they have. How does a young girl not only read but understand Shakespeare? Why do good things keep happening in her presence? And why aren't Jo and Gabe checking the missing children's website anymore?

Though the three have formed an incredible bond, they know difficult choices must be made. As the summer nears an end and Ursa gets closer to her fifth miracle, her dangerous past closes in. When it finally catches up to them, all of their painful secrets will be forced into the open, and their fates will be left to the stars.

Genre: Literary Fiction

Praise for this book

"Where the Forest Meets the Stars is an enchanting novel full of hope and the power of love that will pull at your heartstrings. Perfect for fans of Sarah Addison Allen." - Karen Katchur

"Where the Forest Meets the Stars is a lovely, surprising, and insightful look at the way bonds are formed—both the ones that we choose and the ones that seem to choose us." - Rebecca Kauffman

"A powerful story of the way in which hearts are mended by love, compassion, and everyday miracles. Cleverly plotted and building to an intense crescendo in the final chapters, Where the Forest Meets the Stars is a beautiful and unforgettable debut." - Julianne MacLean

"A heartwarming, magical story that will remind readers of a modern-day The Snow Child." - Christopher Meades

"Where the Forest Meets the Stars will grab you from the very first page and surprise you the whole way through. This is an incredibly original, imaginative, and curious story. Glendy Vanderah has managed to create a world that is very real and, yet, entirely out of the ordinary." - Taylor Jenkins Reid

"In Where the Forest Meets the Stars, Glendy Vanderah weaves a deft and poignant story with well-drawn characters, including clever Ursa. With an unexpected and heart-racing climax, readers will wait breathlessly to find out what happens. A beautiful story of love, resilience, and the power of second chances." - Susie Orman Schnall

"Where the Forest Meets the Stars is an enchanting novel…Readers will be taken by Glendy Vanderah’s rich and relatable characters and the way in which she weaves their stories together. At its core, Where the Forest Meets the Stars is about having faith, nurturing hope, and trusting your heart above your head, because when you do, miracles are possible." - Janis Thomas


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Glendy Vanderah's Where the Forest Meets the Stars

Hardback Editions

March 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Where the Forest Meets the Stars
Author(s): Glendy Vanderah
ISBN: 1-5420-4006-X / 978-1-5420-4006-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Lake Union Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

March 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Where the Forest Meets the Stars
Author(s): Glendy Vanderah
ISBN: 1-5039-0491-1 / 978-1-5039-0491-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Lake Union Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

March 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Where the Forest Meets the Stars
Author(s): Glendy Vanderah
ISBN: 1-978644-08-6 / 978-1-978644-08-3
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2019 : MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Where the Forest Meets the Stars
Author(s): Glendy Vanderah
ISBN: 1-978644-09-4 / 978-1-978644-09-0
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Where the Forest Meets the Stars
Author(s): Glendy Vanderah
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   


March 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Where the Forest Meets the Stars
Author(s): Glendy Vanderah
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


March 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Where the Forest Meets the Stars
Author(s): Glendy Vanderah
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


March 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Where the Forest Meets the Stars
Author(s): Glendy Vanderah
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

March 2019 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Where the Forest Meets the Stars
Author(s): Glendy Vanderah
Publisher: Lake Union Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU