book cover of Begars Abbey
Added by 13 of our members
 

Begars Abbey

(2022)
A novel by

 
 
'A dark gothic delight' JANICE HALLETT, author of THE TWYFORD CODE
'Inventive, lavish, twisty... will keep you guessing until the very end' ALISON LITTLEWOOD, author of
MISTLETOE

A dark house filled with darker secrets...


Winter 1954, and in a dilapidated apartment in Brooklyn, Sam Cooper realises that she has nothing left. Her mother is dead, she has no prospects, and she cannot afford the rent. But as she goes through her mother's things, Sam finds a stack of hidden letters that reveal a family and an inheritance that she never knew she had, three thousand miles away in Yorkshire.

Begars Abbey is a crumbling pile, inhabited only by Lady Cooper, Sam's ailing grandmother, and a handful of servants. Sam cannot understand why her mother kept its very existence a secret, but her newly discovered diaries offer a glimpse of a young girl growing increasingly terrified. As is Sam herself.

Built on the foundations of an old convent, Begars moves and sings with the biting wind. Her grandmother cannot speak, and a shadowy woman moves along the corridors at night. There are dark places in the hidden tunnels beneath Begars. And they will not give up their secrets easily...

A chilling read that will keep you turning the pages late into the night, Begars Abbey is a must-read for fans of Laura Purcell and W.C. Ryan.



Genre: Historical Mystery

Praise for this book

"Pure enjoyment! Searching for her Yorkshire roots, spirited New Yorker Sam Cooper is pulled into a Gothic mystery rooted in medieval horrors. Witty, fast-moving and spine-chillingly dark, this is a gripping and rewarding read." - Rose Black

"A knowing spin on the English country house ghost story, it's a romp told with sly affection for the genre & great gothic gusto." - Kate Griffin

"Takes its reader to a sinister place and locks them in, all alone. A dark, gothic delight best enjoyed by the light of a single, flickering candle." - Janice Hallett

"An inventive, lavish, twisty ghost story that will keep you guessing and turning the pages until the very end. Atmospheric and hugely enjoyable." - Alison Littlewood

"As a gothic novel Begars Abbey has it all: remote and storm-bound Yorkshire, ruined abbey buildings, hidden diaries and keys, locked doors and long corridors, even a wicked old woman in a wheelchair... But Vikki Valentine provides the reader with something more, through her appealing, nail-biting heroine, Sam." - Alix Nathan

"The 1950s setting of Begars Abbey by VL Valentine cleverly evokes the black and white movies of the period, building to a gripping Gothic climax." - Leonora Nattrass

"A shiver-down-the-spine jaunt into the gruesome past, with a deliciously creepy finale." - CE Rose

"An atmospheric, spine-tingling page-turner packed with curious characters and sinister twists," - Jennifer Ryan

"No-one does the creeps like V.L. Valentine... Darkly, fiendishly, irresistibly good." - Kate Simants

"Wonderful... High gothic with a captivating protagonist. Loved it." - Rhiannon Ward


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for V L Valentine's Begars Abbey

Hardback Editions

April 2022 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Begars Abbey
Author(s): V L Valentine
ISBN: 1-78816-456-3 / 978-1-78816-456-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Viper
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

November 2022 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Begars Abbey
Author(s): V L Valentine
ISBN: 1-78816-458-X / 978-1-78816-458-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Viper
Availability: Amazon UK   


Audio Editions

May 2022 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Begars Abbey
Author(s): V L Valentine
Publisher: W. F. Howes Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


May 2022 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Begars Abbey
Author(s): V L Valentine
Publisher: W. F. Howes Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2022 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Begars Abbey
Author(s): V L Valentine
Publisher: W. F. Howes Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2022 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Begars Abbey
Author(s): V L Valentine
Publisher: Viper
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU