book cover of Death on the Rhine

Death on the Rhine

(1994)
(A book in the Common Smith VC series)
A novel by

 
 

An assassination threat risks plunging Europe into a second world war. Only Common Smith can avert calamity

Germany, 1923. The beaten Fatherland is in turmoil, inflation is raging and millions are unemployed. Adolf Hitler is raising a right-wing traditionalist Germany to march on Berlin and Von Horn, the perverted head of the secret German Intelligence Unit, plans to murder the Commander-in-Chief of the British Army of the Rhine.

"C", head of MI6, orders Common Smith VC to sail secretly for the army HQ at Cologne and prevent the assassination. If he fails, "C" warns him, then the whole of Germany will be reunited under a fanatic, who will lead them into another terrible war against Western Europe...

The third Common Smith adventure, from one of the most prolific war fiction writers of the twentieth century. Perfect for fans of David Beaty and Alexander Fullerton.

Genre: Thriller

Used availability for Charles Whiting's Death on the Rhine

Hardback Editions

January 2002 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Death on the Rhine
Author(s): Charles Whiting
ISBN: 0-7505-1817-0 / 978-0-7505-1817-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Magna Large Print Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


December 1994 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Death on the Rhine (The adventures of Common Smith V.C)
Author(s): Charles Whiting
ISBN: 0-7278-4693-0 / 978-0-7278-4693-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Severn House Publishers Ltd
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

October 2002 : UK Audio Cassette

Title: Death on the Rhine: Unabridged
Author(s): Charles Whiting
ISBN: 1-85903-512-4 / 978-1-85903-512-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Magna Story Sound
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

June 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Death on the Rhine (The Common Smith VC Adventures Book 3)
Author(s): Charles Whiting
Publisher: Canelo Action
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU