book cover of The Engineer\'s Wife
Added by 8 of our members

The Engineer's Wife

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
She built a monument for all time. Then she was lost in its shadow. Discover the fascinating woman who helped design and construct an American icon, perfect for readers of The Other Einstein.

Emily Warren Roebling refuses to live conventionally—she knows who she is and what she wants, and she's determined to make change. But then her husband Wash asks the unthinkable: give up her dreams to make his possible.

Emily's fight for women's suffrage is put on hold, and her life transformed when Wash, the Chief Engineer of the Brooklyn Bridge, is injured on the job. Untrained for the task, but under his guidance, she assumes his role, despite stern resistance and overwhelming obstacles. Lines blur as Wash's vision becomes her own, and when he is unable to return to the job, Emily is consumed by it. But as the project takes shape under Emily's direction, she wonders whose legacy she is building—hers, or her husband's. As the monument rises, Emily's marriage, principles, and identity threaten to collapse. When the bridge finally stands finished, will she recognize the woman who built it?

Based on the true story of the Brooklyn Bridge, The Engineer's Wife delivers an emotional portrait of a woman transformed by a project of unfathomable scale, which takes her into the bowels of the East River, suffragette riots, the halls of Manhattan's elite, and the heady, freewheeling temptations of P.T. Barnum. It's the story of a husband and wife determined to build something that lasts—even at the risk of losing each other.

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"The Engineer's Wife is historical fiction at its finest. Tracey Enerson Wood crafts the powerful and poignant story of Emily Warren Roebling, the compelling woman who played an instrumental role in the design and construction of the Brooklyn Bridge. This is necessary fiction for our time-paying tribute to women's overlooked contributions and reminding us of the true foundations of American history." - Andrea Bobotis

"The Engineer's Wife is just the sort of novel I love and-I hope-write. Against all odds, a dynamic, historic woman builds a monument and changes history as she and her surrounding cast leap off the page. What a life and what a beautifully written and inspiring story!" - Karen Harper

"Who really built the Brooklyn Bridge? With its spunky, tough-minded heroine and vivid New York setting, The Engineer's Wife is a triumphant historical novel sure to please readers of the genre. Like Paula McLain, Tracey Enerson Wood spins a colorful and romantic tale of a storied era." - Stewart O'Nan

"Well-researched with great attention to detail, The Engineer's Wife is based on the true story about the exceptional woman who was tasked to build the Brooklyn Bridge. Though the great bridge would connect a city, it would also cause division and great loss for many. Tracey Enerson Wood delivers an absorbing and poignant tale of struggle, self-sacrifice and the family transformed by the building of the legendary American landmark during the volatile time of women's suffrage, riots and corruption. A triumphant debut not to be missed!" - Kim Michele Richardson


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Tracey Enerson Wood's The Engineer's Wife

Hardback Editions

May 2020 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: The Engineer's Wife
Author(s): Tracey Enerson Wood
ISBN: 1-4328-7931-6 / 978-1-4328-7931-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2020 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Engineer's Wife: A Novel
Author(s): Tracey Enerson Wood
ISBN: 1-4926-9813-X / 978-1-4926-9813-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

February 2021 : Paperback
thumb

Title: The Engineer's Wife: A Novel
Author(s): Tracey Enerson Wood
ISBN: 1-72822-625-2 / 978-1-72822-625-5
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

April 2020 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Engineer's Wife: A Novel
Author(s): Tracey Enerson Wood
Publisher: Sourcebooks Landmark
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA