book cover of The Collected Strange Stories of Robert Aickman Volume 1

The Collected Strange Stories of Robert Aickman Volume 1

A collection of stories by

Robert Aickman is considered by many to be one of the finest modern writers of ghost stories. But Aickman himself referred to his tales as "strange stories", for they are often open to more complex interpretations. The writing is subtle and poetic, presenting us with both psychological and more material terrors. This first volume of the two-volume set of "The Collected Strange Stories" contains "We Are for the Dark": The Trains, The Insufficient Answer, The View. "Dark Entries": The School Friend, Ringing the Changes, Choice of Weapons, The Waiting Room, Bind Your Hair. "Powers of Darkness": Your Tiny Hand is Frozen, My Poor Friend, The Visiting Star, Larger Than Oneself, A Roman Question, The Wine-Dark Sea. "Sub Rosa": Ravissante, The Inner Room, Never Visit Venice, The Unsettled Dust, The Houses of the Russians, No Stronger Than a Flower, The Cicerones, Into the Wood. Also includes An Essay by Robert Aickman, An Appreciation by David Tibet, A Reminiscence by Ramsey Campbell. Cover artwork by Stephen Stapleton.

Genre: Horror

Similar books by other authors

The Fontana Book of Great Horror Stories
(Fontana Book of Great Horror Stories, book 1)
Christine Bernard
The 4th Pan Book of Horror Stories
(Pan Book of Horror Stories, book 4)
Herbert Van Thal

Used availability for Robert Aickman's The Collected Strange Stories of Robert Aickman Volume 1

Hardback Editions

December 2000 : UK Hardback

Title: The Collected Strange Stories: v. 1
Author(s): Robert Aickman
ISBN: 1-872621-47-3 / 978-1-872621-47-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: The Tartarus Press
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU