A M Burrage

(Alfred McClelland Burrage)
UK flag (1889 - 1956)

aka Frank Lelland, Ex-Private X

Alfred McLelland Burrage was a British writer.

He was noted in his time as an author of fiction for boys which he published under the pseudonym Frank Lelland, including a popular series called "Tufty".

He served in the First World War and published a memoir of his experiences, War Is War, as "Ex-Private X".

Burrage is now remembered mainly for his horror fiction, which was originally collected in the books Some Ghost Stories (1927) and Someone in the Room (1931, as by "Ex-Private X") and has been reprinted by Ash Tree Press

Genres: Horror
   War Is War (1930) (as by Ex-Private X)
   Seeker to the Dead (1942)
no image availablethumbthumbthumb
Novellas and Short Stories
   The Attic (1926)
   One Who Saw (1931) (as by Ex-Private X)
   Smee (1931) (as by Ex-Private X)
   The Sweeper (1931) (as by Ex-Private X)
Anthologies containing stories by A M Burrage
Haunters at the Hearth (2022)
Eerie Tales for Christmas Nights
(British Library Tales of the Weird, book 34)
edited by
Lucy Evans and Tanya Kirk
Chill Tidings (2020)
Dark Tales of the Christmas Season
(British Library Tales of the Weird, book 19)
edited by
Tanya Kirk

More anthologies 

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors