New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Ann Bridge's picture

Ann Bridge

(Mary Dolling Saunders O'Malley)
UK (1889 - 1974)

Mid twentieth-century novelist [real name, Mary Anne O'Malley] who began by exploiting the milieu of the British Foreign Office community in Peking, China, where she lived for two years with her diplomat husband. Her novels combine courtship plots with vividly-realised settings and demure social satire.

She went on to write novels which take as the background of their protagonists' emotional lives a serious investigation of modern historical developments (such as the leap by which Turkey progressed from a feudal-style government to become a modern republic in which women enjoyed equality of rights and equality of opportunity).

Ann Bridge also wrote thrillers centred on a female amateur detective, travel books, and family memoirs.

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
Margo Maguire
Anne Gracie
Deanna Raybourn
Laura Madeleine
Elizabeth Pewsey
Rhys Bowen
Tasha Alexander
Alyssa Maxwell
Juliet Blackwell
Erika Marks
Darcy Burke
Diana Quincy
Amanda Forester
Jodi Picoult
Susan Elia MacNeal