book cover of Jane\'s Baby
Added by 4 of our members

Jane's Baby

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
Whatever happened to Jane Roe's baby? Norma McCorvey, of Caddo-Comanche heritage, did not terminate the pregnancy that led her to become the anonymous plaintiff of the landmark U.S. Supreme Court women's rights case Roe v Wade because in 1971, when the motion was first argued, abortion in the U.S. was illegal. The Jane Roe real-life child would now be a woman in her late forties, the potential of her polarizing celebrity unknown to her. A religious rights splinter group has blackmailed its way into learning the identity of the Roe baby, the product of a closed adoption. To what end, only a new Supreme Court case will reveal. Tourette's-afflicted K9 bounty hunter Judge Drury, a Marine, stands in the way of the splinter group's attempt at stacking the Supreme Court via blackmail, murder, arson, sleight of hand, and secret identities.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"JANE'S BABY is a stunning thriller, pitch-dark and filled with twists you never see coming. Chris Bauer's complex cast of characters headed by bounty hunter Judge Drury and his K9 partner pulled me in from the beginning and never let go. Bauer is a novelist to watch." - Margaret Coel

"Chris Bauer's JANE'S BABY is a fresh and engaging page-turner in the tradition of Janet Evanovich and Carl Hiaasen, with a 'Wish I'd thought of that' premise, a bounty hunter with a serious problem, and a cast of quirky sidekicks on a collision course with both the past and the future. I read this in one sitting. Such a clever book!" - Karen Dionne

"Bauer spins a fascinating 'what if' tale of recent history that has never seemed more relevant than it is today. He has created a hero who deftly manages his personal challenges while riding a rollercoaster fugitive recovery case, taking the reader along for the pulse-pounding adventure. The results are nothing less than explosive." - Sara Driscoll

"JANE'S BABY has it all -- fresh and quirky characters -- an ex-Marine bounty hunter with Tourette's Syndrome and bomb-sniffing dogs, an alcoholic little person blogger sidekick, an angry bull, a female Native American Supreme Court Justice, an obsessive assassin -- and a plot loaded with tricky twists and troubling timely issues. Chris Bauer pulls them all together with wrenching seat of your pants suspense. He's clearly a writer to watch." - Merry Jones

"In JANE'S BABY, Chris Bauer weaves unique characters into a compelling story. Readers will love bounty hunter Judge Drury's two deputies, who happen to be retired military dogs." - Margaret Mizushima

"Chris Bauer came up with a doozy of a 'what if' question in JANE'S BABY. I just wish I had thought of it myself." - Alan Russell

"Colorful characters, a high-octane plot and relentless suspense. JANE'S BABY is a smart, inventive thriller from start to finish." - Kelly Simmons

"JANE'S BABY is both topical and enduring. Chris Bauer's knack for creating unconventional characters is exceeded only by his intense and vivid prose." - Don Swaim


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Trace of Evil
(Natalie Lockhart, book 1)
Alice Blanchard
thumb
The Hiding Place
(Mercy Carr Mystery, book 3)
Paula Munier
thumb
Tundra Kill
(Nathan Active Mysteries, book 5)
Stan Jones

Used availability for Chris Bauer's Jane's Baby

Paperback Editions

June 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Jane's Baby
Author(s): Chris Bauer
ISBN: 1-940758-77-7 / 978-1-940758-77-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Intrigue Publishing LLC
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

August 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Jane's Baby
Author(s): Chris Bauer
Publisher: Intrigue Publishing, LLC
Availability: Amazon   


August 2019 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Jane's Baby
Author(s): Chris Bauer
Publisher: Intrigue Publishing, LLC
Availability: Amazon AU   


August 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Jane's Baby
Author(s): Chris Bauer
Publisher: Intrigue Publishing, LLC
Availability: Amazon CA   


August 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Jane's Baby
Author(s): Chris Bauer
Publisher: Intrigue Publishing, LLC
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

June 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Jane's Baby
Author(s): Chris Bauer
Publisher: Intrigue Publishing LLC
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA