James Buchan's picture

James Buchan

UK flag (b.1954)
Grandson of John Buchan

James Buchan is the author of several novels, including A Parish of Rich Women, which won the 1984 Whitbread Book of the Year award, and Heart's Journey in Winter which won the Guardian prize. He is also an outstanding literary critic and non-fiction writer. He is the grandson of John Buchan, the Scottish novelist.
   A Parish of Rich Women (1984)
   Davy Chadwick (1987)
   Slide (1991)
   Heart's Journey in Winter (1995)
     aka The Golden Plough
   High Latitudes (1996)
   A Good Place to Die (1999)
     aka The Persian Bride
   The Gate of Air (2008)
Non fiction
   Frozen Desire (1997)
   Capital of the Mind (2003)
     aka Crowded with Genius
   Adam Smith and the Pursuit of Liberty (2006)
     aka The Authentic Adam Smith
   Days of God (2012)
   John Law (2018)
Betty Trask Award Best First Novel nominee (1984) : A Parish of Rich Women
Guardian Fiction Prize Best Novel winner (1995) : Heart's Journey in Winter