book cover of Foundryside
Added by 38 of our members

Foundryside

(2018)
(The first book in the Founders series)
A novel by

 
 
Awards
British Fantasy Society Best Novel (nominee)
'The exciting beginning of a promising new epic fantasy series. Prepare for ancient mysteries, innovative magic, and heart-pounding heists' Brandon Sanderson, New York Times bestselling author of Oathbringer

She thought it was just another job. But her discovery could bring the city to its knees . . .

In the city of Tevanne, you either have everything, or nothing. For escaped slave Sancia Grado, eking out a precarious living in the hellhole known as the Commons, nothing is just one misstep away.

So when she is offered a lucrative job to steal an ancient artefact from a heavily guarded warehouse, she leaps at the chance.

But instead of a way out of Tevanne, she finds herself the target of a murderous conspiracy. Someone powerful wants the artefact, and Sancia dead.

To survive, Sancia will need every ally and every ounce of wits at her disposal - because if her unknown enemy unlocks the artefact's secrets, the world - and reality - will never be the same.

'Robert Jackson Bennett deserves a huge audience' Brent Weeks

'An altogether terrific read' Sebastien de Castell

'Intricate worldbuilding, fascinating magic, and engaging characters. More please!' Felicia Day

'Inventive, immersive, and thrilling . . . Do yourself a favor and pick this up!' Kevin Hearne

Genre: Fantasy

Praise for this book

"In Foundryside, scriving magic is the cheat code to reality, and Bennett is a master gamer. A refreshing look at magic - featuring a heroine every reader will root for - from one of the smartest writers I know." - Peter V Brett

"An irresistible, fast-paced adventure that welcomes even non-fantasy fans into its pages, unveiling a remarkable and sophisticated world of magic and intrigue. With non-stop twists, a compelling cast of characters, and an innovative magic system, Foundryside is an altogether terrific read." - Sebastien De Castell

"Inventive, immersive, and thrilling, Foundryside is a fascinating look at how our best intentions can be corrupted - and how wickedly awesome and terrifying gravity belts can be. Do yourself a favor and pick this up." - Kevin Hearne

"Bennett spins a marvelous tale reminiscent of Sanderson. Foundryside is a gripping story with clever characters, intriguing plot, and spectacular worldbuilding." - Charlie N Holmberg

"Fast-paced, intelligent, and fun with a fantastically cool magic system. I can't wait to read the next one." - Brian McClellan

"The exciting beginning of a promising new epic fantasy series. Prepare for ancient mysteries, innovative magic, and heart-pounding heists." - Brandon Sanderson

"Foundryside pulls you in with fast-paced heists, then knocks you down with its innovative magic system. Fun, thoughtful, and thrilling from cover to cover, it's sword-and-sorcery meets computer programming - a must for fans of Scott Lynch and Brandon Sanderson." - James L Sutter

"Robert Jackson Bennett deserves a huge audience." - Brent Weeks


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Girl and the Stars
(Book of the Ice, book 1)
Mark Lawrence
thumb
Priest of Bones
(War for the Rose Throne, book 1)
Peter McLean
thumb
The Unspoken Name
(Serpent Gates, book 1)
A K Larkwood

Used availability for Robert Jackson Bennett's Foundryside

Hardback Editions

August 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Foundryside: A Novel (The Founders Trilogy)
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
ISBN: 1-5247-6036-6 / 978-1-5247-6036-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Crown
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

August 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Foundryside (The Founders)
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
ISBN: 1-78648-785-3 / 978-1-78648-785-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Jo Fletcher Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


May 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Foundryside: A Novel (The Founders Trilogy)
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
ISBN: 0-525-57384-4 / 978-0-525-57384-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Broadway Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Foundryside (The Founders)
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
ISBN: 1-78648-786-1 / 978-1-78648-786-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Jo Fletcher Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

November 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Foundryside
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
Publisher: Jo Fletcher Books
Availability: Amazon   


November 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Foundryside
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
Publisher: Jo Fletcher Books
Availability: Amazon AU   


November 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Foundryside
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
Publisher: Jo Fletcher Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


August 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Foundryside: A Novel
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   


August 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Foundryside: A Novel
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

August 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Foundryside: a dazzling new series from the author of The Divine Cities (The Founders)
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
Publisher: Jo Fletcher Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


August 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Foundryside: A Novel (The Founders Trilogy Book 1)
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
Publisher: Crown
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA