book cover of Foundryside
Added by 43 of our members

Foundryside

(2018)
(The first book in the Founders series)
A novel by

 
 
Awards
British Fantasy Society Best Novel (nominee)
"The exciting beginning of a promising new epic fantasy series. Prepare for ancient mysteries, innovative magic, and heart-pounding heists."—Brandon Sanderson

“Complex characters, magic that is tech and vice versa, a world bound by warring trade dynasties: Bennett will leave you in awe once you remember to breathe!”—Tamora Pierce

In a city that runs on industrialized magic, a secret war will be fought to overwrite reality itself—the first in a dazzling new series from City of Stairs author Robert Jackson Bennett.
 
Sancia Grado is a thief, and a damn good one. And her latest target, a heavily guarded warehouse on Tevanne’s docks, is nothing her unique abilities can’t handle.
 
But unbeknownst to her, Sancia’s been sent to steal an artifact of unimaginable power, an object that could revolutionize the magical technology known as scriving. The Merchant Houses who control this magic—the art of using coded commands to imbue everyday objects with sentience—have already used it to transform Tevanne into a vast, remorseless capitalist machine. But if they can unlock the artifact’s secrets, they will rewrite the world itself to suit their aims.
 
Now someone in those Houses wants Sancia dead, and the artifact for themselves. And in the city of Tevanne, there’s nobody with the power to stop them.
 
To have a chance at surviving—and at stopping the deadly transformation that’s under way—Sancia will have to marshal unlikely allies, learn to harness the artifact’s power for herself, and undergo her own transformation, one that will turn her into something she could never have imagined.

Genre: Fantasy

Praise for this book

"In Foundryside, scriving magic is the cheat code to reality, and Bennett is a master gamer. A refreshing look at magic - featuring a heroine every reader will root for - from one of the smartest writers I know." - Peter V Brett

"An irresistible, fast-paced adventure that welcomes even non-fantasy fans into its pages, unveiling a remarkable and sophisticated world of magic and intrigue. With non-stop twists, a compelling cast of characters, and an innovative magic system, Foundryside is an altogether terrific read." - Sebastien De Castell

"Inventive, immersive, and thrilling, Foundryside is a fascinating look at how our best intentions can be corrupted - and how wickedly awesome and terrifying gravity belts can be. Do yourself a favor and pick this up." - Kevin Hearne

"Bennett spins a marvelous tale reminiscent of Sanderson. Foundryside is a gripping story with clever characters, intriguing plot, and spectacular worldbuilding." - Charlie N Holmberg

"Fast-paced, intelligent, and fun with a fantastically cool magic system. I can't wait to read the next one." - Brian McClellan

"The exciting beginning of a promising new epic fantasy series. Prepare for ancient mysteries, innovative magic, and heart-pounding heists." - Brandon Sanderson

"Foundryside pulls you in with fast-paced heists, then knocks you down with its innovative magic system. Fun, thoughtful, and thrilling from cover to cover, it's sword-and-sorcery meets computer programming - a must for fans of Scott Lynch and Brandon Sanderson." - James L Sutter

"Robert Jackson Bennett deserves a huge audience." - Brent Weeks


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Dawnthief
(Chronicles of the Raven, book 1)
James Barclay
thumb
Empire of Sand
(Books of Ambha, book 1)
Tasha Suri
thumb
Seven Blades in Black
(Grave of Empires, book 1)
Sam Sykes
thumb
The Girl and the Stars
(Book of the Ice, book 1)
Mark Lawrence

Used availability for Robert Jackson Bennett's Foundryside

Hardback Editions

August 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Foundryside: A Novel (The Founders Trilogy)
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
ISBN: 1-5247-6036-6 / 978-1-5247-6036-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Crown
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

August 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Foundryside (The Founders)
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
ISBN: 1-78648-785-3 / 978-1-78648-785-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Jo Fletcher Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


May 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Foundryside: A Novel (The Founders Trilogy)
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
ISBN: 0-525-57384-4 / 978-0-525-57384-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Crown
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Foundryside (The Founders)
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
ISBN: 1-78648-786-1 / 978-1-78648-786-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Jo Fletcher Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

November 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Foundryside
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
Publisher: Jo Fletcher Books
Availability: Amazon   


November 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Foundryside
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
Publisher: Jo Fletcher Books
Availability: Amazon AU   


November 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Foundryside
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
Publisher: Jo Fletcher Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


August 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Foundryside: A Novel
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   


August 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Foundryside: A Novel
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

August 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Foundryside: a dazzling new series from the author of The Divine Cities (The Founders)
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
Publisher: Jo Fletcher Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


August 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Foundryside: A Novel (The Founders Trilogy Book 1)
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
Publisher: Crown
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA