book cover of Foundryside
Added by 16 of our members

Foundryside

(2018)
(The first book in the Founders series)
A novel by

 
 
She thought it was just another job. But her discovery could bring the city to its knees....

The city of Tevanne runs on scrivings, industrialised magical inscriptions that make inanimate objects sentient; they power everything, from walls to wheels to weapons. Scrivings have brought enormous progress and enormous wealth - but only to the four merchant Houses who control them. Everyone else is a servant or slave, or they eke a precarious living in the hellhole called the Commons.

There's not much in the way of work for an escaped slave like Sancia Grado, but she has an unnatural talent that makes her one of the best thieves in the city. When she's offered a lucrative job to steal an ancient artefact from a heavily guarded warehouse, Sancia agrees, dreaming of leaving the Commons - but instead, she finds herself the target of a murderous conspiracy. Someone powerful in Tevanne wants the artefact, and Sancia dead - and whoever it is already wields power beyond imagining.

Sancia will need every ally, and every ounce of wits at her disposal, if she is to survive - because if her enemy gets the artefact and unlocks its secrets, thousands will die, and, even worse, it will allow ancient evils back into the world and turn their city into a devastated battleground.

Genre: Fantasy

Praise for this book

"In Foundryside, scriving magic is the cheat code to reality, and Bennett is a master gamer. A refreshing look at magic - featuring a heroine every reader will root for - from one of the smartest writers I know." - Peter V Brett

"An irresistible, fast-paced adventure that welcomes even non-fantasy fans into its pages, unveiling a remarkable and sophisticated world of magic and intrigue. With non-stop twists, a compelling cast of characters, and an innovative magic system, Foundryside is an altogether terrific read." - Sebastien De Castell

"Inventive, immersive, and thrilling, Foundryside is a fascinating look at how our best intentions can be corrupted - and how wickedly awesome and terrifying gravity belts can be. Do yourself a favor and pick this up." - Kevin Hearne

"Bennett spins a marvelous tale reminiscent of Sanderson. Foundryside is a gripping story with clever characters, intriguing plot, and spectacular worldbuilding." - Charlie N Holmberg

"Fast-paced, intelligent, and fun with a fantastically cool magic system. I can't wait to read the next one." - Brian McClellan

"The exciting beginning of a promising new epic fantasy series. Prepare for ancient mysteries, innovative magic, and heart-pounding heists." - Brandon Sanderson

"Foundryside pulls you in with fast-paced heists, then knocks you down with its innovative magic system. Fun, thoughtful, and thrilling from cover to cover, it's sword-and-sorcery meets computer programming - a must for fans of Scott Lynch and Brandon Sanderson." - James L Sutter

"Robert Jackson Bennett deserves a huge audience." - Brent Weeks


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Holy Sister
(Book of the Ancestor, book 3)
Mark Lawrence
thumb
The City of Brass
(Daevabad Trilogy, book 1)
S A Chakraborty
thumb
The Poppy War
(Poppy War, book 1)
R F Kuang
thumb
Semiosis
(Semiosis Duology, book 1)
Sue Burke

Used availability for Robert Jackson Bennett's Foundryside

Hardback Editions

August 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Foundryside: A Novel (The Founders Trilogy)
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
ISBN: 1-5247-6036-6 / 978-1-5247-6036-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Crown
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

August 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Foundryside (The Founders)
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
ISBN: 1-78648-785-3 / 978-1-78648-785-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Jo Fletcher Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


May 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Foundryside: A Novel (The Founders Trilogy)
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
ISBN: 0-525-57384-4 / 978-0-525-57384-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Broadway Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Foundryside (The Founders)
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
ISBN: 1-78648-786-1 / 978-1-78648-786-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Jo Fletcher Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

November 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Foundryside
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
Publisher: Jo Fletcher Books
Availability: Amazon   


November 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Foundryside
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
Publisher: Jo Fletcher Books
Availability: Amazon AU   


November 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Foundryside
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
Publisher: Jo Fletcher Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


August 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Foundryside: A Novel
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   


August 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Foundryside: A Novel
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

August 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Foundryside: a dazzling new series from the author of The Divine Cities (The Founders Book 1)
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
Publisher: Jo Fletcher Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


August 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Foundryside: A Novel (The Founders Trilogy Book 1)
Author(s): Robert Jackson Bennett
Publisher: Crown
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA