book cover of Surviving Savannah
Added by 34 of our members

Surviving Savannah

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
"An atmospheric, compelling story of survival, tragedy, the enduring power of myth and memory, and the moments that change one's life." 
--Kristin Hannah, #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Four Winds
 
"[An] enthralling and emotional tale...A story about strength and fate."--Woman's World
 
An epic novel that explores the metal of human spirit in crisis. It is an expertly told, fascinating story that runs fathoms deep on multiple levels.”—New York Journal of Books 

It was called "The Titanic of the South." The luxury steamship sank in 1838 with Savannah's elite on board; through time, their fates were forgotten--until the wreck was found, and now their story is finally being told in this breathtaking novel from the New York Times bestselling author of Becoming Mrs. Lewis.


When Savannah history professor Everly Winthrop is asked to guest-curate a new museum collection focusing on artifacts recovered from the steamship Pulaski, she's shocked. The ship sank after a boiler explosion in 1838, and the wreckage was just discovered, 180 years later. Everly can't resist the opportunity to try to solve some of the mysteries and myths surrounding the devastating night of its sinking.

Everly's research leads her to the astounding history of a family of eleven who boarded the Pulaski together, and the extraordinary stories of two women from this family: a known survivor, Augusta Longstreet, and her niece, Lilly Forsyth, who was never found, along with her child. These aristocratic women were part of Savannah's society, but when the ship exploded, each was faced with difficult and heartbreaking decisions. This is a moving and powerful exploration of what women will do to endure in the face of tragedy, the role fate plays, and the myriad ways we survive the surviving.

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"[A] sweeping, captivating tale of a contemporary woman lost in a fog of grief who finds solace, and finally, redemption, as she uncovers the long-buried secrets of a nearly forgotten shipwreck--and the courageous women who survived to bear witness to history." - Mary Kay Andrews

"[S]pellbinding....Beautifully written with a masterfully crafted plot, Surviving Savannah leaves the reader breathless and marveling at the manner in which the past and present interweave in ways we almost cannot imagine." - Marie Benedict

"The astonishing story of the 'Titanic of the South' is brought to vivid life....This tale of survival, love, and loss, as well as Callahan's epic portrayals of a trio of strong, passionate women, gripped me from the very first page. Simply masterful." - Fiona Davis

"[A] lush, meticulously researched deep-dive into the little-known story of a historic shipwreck....Surviving Savannah is a lyrical homage to this southern city and makes a real contribution to the historical record." - Stephanie Dray

"Fans of Christina Baker Kline and Kate Quinn will love this beautiful, richly detailed novel about a lost bit of American maritime history. In a seamless blending of fact and fiction, Patti Callahan has created an atmospheric, compelling story of survival, tragedy, the enduring power of myth and memory, and the moments that change one's life." - Kristin Hannah

"[A] rich tale of friendship, heritage, forgiveness, redemption, and the thin, too-fragile line between life and death. How will we survive the surviving? one of her characters wonders, and it is a question that Callahan mines beautifully. If you're fascinated by the Titanic, meet your new favorite novel." - Kristin Harmel

"Patti Callahan masterfully weaves a little known historical tragedy, an enigmatic mystery, and a searing family saga into a mesmerizing tale that will captivate readers until the last page and beyond." - Pam Jenoff

"Fiercely hopeful...Callahan's expertly-drawn characters are forced to discover how to live past tragedy, and what matters most in the aftermath. This is exactly the kind of story we need right now." - Paula McLain

"Through the interwoven tales of three courageous women, Surviving Savannah ?grips the reader in a spellbinding novel full of mystery, tragedy, sacrifice, and resilience....Superb." - Kristina McMorris

"Riveting...a heartfelt exploration of the pain of survival amid incalculable loss, and a mesmerizing character study of three women...[A] memorable and profoundly moving novel that readers are destined to cherish." - Jennifer Robson

"Hidden history rises from the watery depths in all its glittering glory but also in its intimate, human detail. Meticulously researched, beautifully written, underpinned by timeless themes of personal trauma and its aftereffects, Surviving Savannah is a journey readers and book clubs will treasure." - Lisa Wingate


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Patti Callahan's Surviving Savannah

Hardback Editions

March 2021 : Hardback
thumb

Title: Surviving Savannah
Author(s): Patti Callahan
ISBN: 1-984803-75-1 / 978-1-984803-75-7
Publisher: Berkley
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2021 : USA Library Binding
thumb

Title: Surviving Savannah
Author(s): Patti Callahan
ISBN: 1-4328-8586-3 / 978-1-4328-8586-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

March 2021 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Surviving Savannah
Author(s): Patti Callahan
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon   


March 2021 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Surviving Savannah
Author(s): Patti Callahan
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


March 2021 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Surviving Savannah
Author(s): Patti Callahan
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


March 2021 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Surviving Savannah
Author(s): Patti Callahan
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

March 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Surviving Savannah
Author(s): Patti Callahan
Publisher: Berkley
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU