book cover of Shadow Man
Added by 6 members
 

Shadow Man

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
An explosive serial killer thriller perfect for readers of Lee Child, Karin Slaughter and Michael Connolly.
Southern California, 1986. Detective Ben Wade has returned to his hometown in search of a quieter life and to try to save his marriage. Suddenly the community, with its peaceful streets and neighbourly concerns, finds itself at the mercy of a serial killer who slips through windows and screen doors at night, shattering illusions of safety.
As Ben and forensic specialist Natasha Betencourt struggle to stay one step ahead of the killer - and deal with painful episodes in the past - Ben's own world is rocked again by violence. He must decide how far he is willing to go, and Natasha how much she is willing to risk, to rescue the town from a psychotic murderer and a long-buried secret.
With eerie, chilling prose, Alan Drew brings us into the treacherous underbelly of a suburban California town in this brilliant novel of suspense; the story of a man, and a community, confronted with the heart of human darkness.
Wonderfully imagined and wonderfully written, patient but propulsive, serious but suspenseful, grown-up but gripping, Shadow Man is everything a great thriller should be. - Lee Child



Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"A home run." - Lee Child

"Part murder mystery, part family drama, Alan Drew's Shadow Man has everything I like in a novel: grit, heart, and nail-biting suspense. It's the sort of magically absorbing novel that keeps you turning the pages and checking the locks on the door." - Lauren Grodstein

"Shadow Man revises the old detective story and turns it in several fascinating directions. Alan Drew writes with precision, subtlety, and a streak of suspense that does not often color the literary novel." - Colum McCann

"Shadow Man is an enrapturing read from its start to its unpredictable, enthralling finish." - Daniel Torday


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Alan Drew's Shadow Man


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors