book cover of Shadow Man

Shadow Man

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
An explosive serial killer thriller perfect for readers of Lee Child, Karin Slaughter and Michael Connolly.

Southern California, 1986. Detective Ben Wade has returned to his hometown in search of a quieter life and to try to save his marriage. Suddenly the community, with its peaceful streets and neighbourly concerns, finds itself at the mercy of a serial killer who slips through windows and screen doors at night, shattering illusions of safety.

As Ben and forensic specialist Natasha Betencourt struggle to stay one step ahead of the killer - and deal with painful episodes in the past - Ben's own world is rocked again by violence. He must decide how far he is willing to go, and Natasha how much she is willing to risk, to rescue the town from a psychotic murderer and a long-buried secret.

With eerie, chilling prose, Alan Drew brings us into the treacherous underbelly of a suburban California town in this brilliant novel of suspense; the story of a man, and a community, confronted with the heart of human darkness.

Wonderfully imagined and wonderfully written, patient but propulsive, serious but suspenseful, grown-up but gripping, Shadow Man is everything a great thriller should be. - Lee Child

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"A home run." - Lee Child

"Part murder mystery, part family drama, Alan Drew's Shadow Man has everything I like in a novel: grit, heart, and nail-biting suspense. It's the sort of magically absorbing novel that keeps you turning the pages and checking the locks on the door." - Lauren Grodstein

"Shadow Man revises the old detective story and turns it in several fascinating directions. Alan Drew writes with precision, subtlety, and a streak of suspense that does not often color the literary novel." - Colum McCann

"Shadow Man is an enrapturing read from its start to its unpredictable, enthralling finish." - Daniel Torday


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Alan Drew's Shadow Man

Hardback Editions

January 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Shadow Man: An explosive serial killer thriller perfect for readers of Lee Child
Author(s): Alan Drew
ISBN: 1-78649-330-6 / 978-1-78649-330-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon UK   


October 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Shadow Man (Thorndike Press Large Print Thriller)
Author(s): Alan Drew
ISBN: 1-4328-4268-4 / 978-1-4328-4268-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Shadow Man: A Novel
Author(s): Alan Drew
ISBN: 1-4000-6780-4 / 978-1-4000-6780-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

November 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Shadow Man: An explosive serial killer thriller perfect for readers of Lee Child
Author(s): Alan Drew
ISBN: 1-78649-333-0 / 978-1-78649-333-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Shadow Man: A Novel
Author(s): Alan Drew
ISBN: 0-8129-7966-4 / 978-0-8129-7966-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Shadow Man: An explosive serial killer thriller perfect for readers of Lee Child
Author(s): Alan Drew
ISBN: 1-78649-331-4 / 978-1-78649-331-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

December 2018 : Audio CD

Title: Shadow Man
Author(s): Alan Drew
ISBN: 1-78771-099-8 / 978-1-78771-099-3
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


December 2018 : Audio CD

Title: Shadow Man
Author(s): Alan Drew
ISBN: 1-78771-135-8 / 978-1-78771-135-8
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Shadow Man: A Novel
Author(s): Alan Drew
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   


May 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Shadow Man: A Novel
Author(s): Alan Drew
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

May 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Shadow Man: A Novel
Author(s): Alan Drew
Publisher: Random House
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


May 2017 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Shadow Man: An explosive serial killer thriller perfect for readers of Lee Child
Author(s): Alan Drew
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU