book cover of Shadow Man

Shadow Man

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
A novel of psychological suspense about an idyllic community rocked by a serial killer - and a dark secret.

Named one of the Best Mysteries of the Year by The Wall Street Journal

Detective Ben Wade has returned to his hometown of Rancho Santa Elena in search of a quieter life and to try to save his marriage. Suddenly the community, with its peaceful streets and excellent public schools, finds itself at the mercy of a serial killer who slips through windows and screen doors at night, shattering illusions of safety. As Ben and forensic specialist Natasha Betencourt struggle to stay one step ahead of the killer - and deal with painful episodes in the past - Ben's own world is rocked again by violence. He must decide how far he is willing to go, and Natasha how much she is willing to risk, to protect their friendship and themselves to rescue the town from a psychotic murderer and a long-buried secret.

With fine, chilling prose, acclaimed author Alan Drew weaves richly imagined characters into the first of several thrilling novels of suspense featuring the California world of Ben Wade and Natasha Betencourt. Shadow Man reveals the treacherous underbelly of suburban life, as a man, a woman, a family, and a community are confronted with the heart of human darkness.

Finalist for the SCIBA T. Jefferson Parker Award . Named one of the Best Crime Novels of the Year by The Booklist Reader

"Smart, chilling, and impossible to put down." - William Landay, author of Defending Jacob

"A stellar achievement, a book that unspools like a dark-toned movie in the reader's mind." - The Wall Street Journal

"A home run." - Lee Child

"Superbly done: Wade, along with forensic expert Natasha Betencourt, are both indelible characters." - Literary Hub

"The more you learn about Ben and his troubled upbringing, the more courageous the novel seems in exposing truths that most crime fiction doesn't go near." - Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

"A descendant of Chandler's The Big Sleep." - Claire Vaye Watkins, author of Gold Fame Citrus

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"A home run." - Lee Child

"Part murder mystery, part family drama, Alan Drew's Shadow Man has everything I like in a novel: grit, heart, and nail-biting suspense. It's the sort of magically absorbing novel that keeps you turning the pages and checking the locks on the door." - Lauren Grodstein

"Shadow Man revises the old detective story and turns it in several fascinating directions. Alan Drew writes with precision, subtlety, and a streak of suspense that does not often color the literary novel." - Colum McCann

"Shadow Man is an enrapturing read from its start to its unpredictable, enthralling finish." - Daniel Torday


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Big Sleep
(Philip Marlowe, book 1)
Raymond Chandler

Used availability for Alan Drew's Shadow Man

Hardback Editions

January 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Shadow Man
Author(s): Alan Drew
ISBN: 1-78649-330-6 / 978-1-78649-330-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon UK   


October 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Shadow Man (Thorndike Press Large Print Thriller)
Author(s): Alan Drew
ISBN: 1-4328-4268-4 / 978-1-4328-4268-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Shadow Man: A Novel
Author(s): Alan Drew
ISBN: 1-4000-6780-4 / 978-1-4000-6780-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

November 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Shadow Man: An explosive serial killer thriller perfect for readers of Lee Child
Author(s): Alan Drew
ISBN: 1-78649-333-0 / 978-1-78649-333-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


April 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Shadow Man: A Novel
Author(s): Alan Drew
ISBN: 0-8129-7966-4 / 978-0-8129-7966-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Random House Trade Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Shadow Man: An explosive serial killer thriller perfect for readers of Lee Child
Author(s): Alan Drew
ISBN: 1-78649-331-4 / 978-1-78649-331-6 (UK edition)
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

December 2018 : Audio CD

Title: Shadow Man
Author(s): Alan Drew
ISBN: 1-78771-099-8 / 978-1-78771-099-3
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


December 2018 : Audio CD

Title: Shadow Man
Author(s): Alan Drew
ISBN: 1-78771-135-8 / 978-1-78771-135-8
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Shadow Man: A Novel
Author(s): Alan Drew
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   


May 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Shadow Man: A Novel
Author(s): Alan Drew
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

May 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Shadow Man: A Novel
Author(s): Alan Drew
Publisher: Random House
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


May 2017 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Shadow Man: An explosive serial killer thriller perfect for readers of Lee Child
Author(s): Alan Drew
Publisher: Corvus
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU