New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
     New Books     Coming Soon     
book cover of The Quiet Enemy

The Quiet Enemy

A collection of stories by

In seven stories set in the rural South and West, Cecil Dawkins displays her remarkable talent for getting beneath the surface of ordinary lives and revealing their foibles and idiosyncrasies. An old deaf woman is kidnapped by a stranger she takes to be the devil; an atom bomb is tested in the Arizona desert; a man shoots a housebreaker dead; a son comes home for a funeral; a child disappears; a boy has his faith destroyed; a parched, money-grubbing man meets a woman no less hard. From these occasions Dawkins distills strong, rich stories.

Dawkins writes about people not sharply aware of their own motives or the sources of their emotions - people blinkered by life in remote places or by lack of good fortune. The remarkable power of her stories comes from the way she can express so much through characters who themselves can express little. She does it by her brilliant evocation of background and the truthfulness of her observation, and by her gift of compassionate understanding, which demolishes the distances between people.


Used availability for Cecil Dawkins's The Quiet Enemy

Paperback Editions

September 1995 : USA Paperback

Title: The Quiet Enemy: Stories (Brown Thrasher Books)
Author(s): Cecil Dawkins
ISBN: 0-8203-1785-3 / 978-0-8203-1785-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: University of Georgia Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

October 1986 : UK Paperback

Title: The Quiet Enemy: Eminent Domain; the Buffalo Farm; a Simple Case; the Mourner; Hummers in the Larkspur; Benny Ricco's Search For Truth; the Quiet Enemy (Contemporary American Fiction)
Author(s): Cecil Dawkins
ISBN: 0-14-008011-2 / 978-0-14-008011-7 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Audio Editions

June 1987 : USA Audio Cassette

Title: Cecil Dawkins: The Quiet Enemy/Readings
Author(s): Cecil Dawkins
ISBN: 1-55644-171-1 / 978-1-55644-171-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Amer Audio Prose Library Inc
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA