Alice Adams's picture
1 follower
17 books added

Alice Adams

USA flag (1926 - 1999)

Alice Adams was an American novelist, short story writer, academic and university professor.She was born in Fredericksburg, Virginia and attended Radcliffe College, graduating in 1946. She married, and had a child, but her marriage broke up, and she spent several years as a single mother, working as a secretary. Her psychiatrist told her to give up writing and get remarried; instead she published her first novel, Careless Love (1966), and a few years later she published her first short story in The New Yorker. She wrote many novels but she's best known for her short stories, in collections such as After You've Gone (1989) and The Last Lovely City (1999).She won numerous awards including the O. Henry Award, and Best American Short Stories Award
   Careless Love (1966)
     aka The Fall of Daisy Duke
   Families & Survivors (1974)
   Listening to Billie (1977)
   Rich Rewards (1980)
   Superior Women (1984)
   Second Chances (1988)
   Roses, Rhododendron (1988)
   Caroline's Daughters (1991)
   Almost Perfect (1993)
   A Southern Exposure (1995)
   Medicine Men (1997)
   After the War (2000)
   Beautiful Girl (1978)
   To See You Again (1982)
   Return Trips (1985)
   After You've Gone (1989)
   The Last Lovely City (1999)
   The Stories of Alice Adams (2002)
   Poolside (2007) (with others)
Non fiction show
Books containing stories by Alice Adams
The Best American Short Stories of the Century (2008)
(Best American Short Stories)
edited by
Katrina Kenison and John Updike
Mirror, Mirror on the Wall (1998)
Women Writers Explore Their Favorite Fairy Tales
edited by
Kate Bernheimer
Nothing But You (1997)
Love Stories from the New Yorker
edited by
Roger Angell

More books 

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors