book cover of A Map of the Dark

A Map of the Dark

(2018)
(The first book in the Searchers series)
A novel by

 
 
A race-against-time thriller for fans of Tana French and Megan Abbott: To save a missing girl, FBI Agent Elsa Myers may have to lose herself....

Even as her father lies dying in a hospital north of New York City, FBI Agent Elsa Myers can't ignore a call for help. A teenage girl has disappeared from Forest Hills, Queens, and during the critical first hours of the case, a series of false leads obscures the fact that she did not go willingly.

With each passing hour, as the hunt for Ruby deepens into a search for a man who may have been killing for years, Elsa's carefully compartmentalized world collapses around her. She finds missing people, but she knows too well how it feels to be lost. Everything she has buried - her fraught relationship with her sister and niece, her self-destructive past, her mother's death - threatens to resurface, with devastating consequences.

Can our most painful childhood secrets be forgotten? Or will they always find their way back into our adult lives? These questions lie at the heart of A Map of the Dark, a riveting portrait of a woman haunted by her family legacy, and a race-against-time thriller.

Genre: Mystery    

Praise for this book

"Vivid, compelling and emotionally engaging, as the best crime novels are. Elsa is an unforgettable central character, damaged but determined. You know you are in good hands as the plot skilfully brings her past and her family into the investigation.... A perfect, deeply satisfying thriller that grips right to the end." - Jane Casey

"A taut, tense, exciting read with a sharp and very human protagonist." - Reed Farrel Coleman

"A riveting, breathless novel, equal parts police procedural and emotional personal journey. Karen Ellis's twisty plot, dark storytelling, and nail-biting action kept me reading far too late into the night. A triumph!" - Karen Dionne

"One of the most compelling psychological thrillers I've read in a long time... grabs you from the very first page and does not loosen its grip. I read this book in a day - I simply could not put it down - but I will be thinking about it for much longer." - Alison Gaylin

"A terrific novel, wonderfully written, richly populated, and utterly gripping from start to finish." - Chris Pavone

"Deftly plotted and packed with blind curves, A Map of the Dark careens into dangerous territory, where Karen Ellis entwines complex storylines with breakneck precision. A must-read for fans of taut, unpredictable psychological suspense." - Wendy Corsi Staub

"A Map of the Dark is a compelling and moving story of buried secrets and hidden demons." - Sarah Ward


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Perfect Death
(DI Callanach, book 3)
Helen Fields

Used availability for Karen Ellis's A Map of the Dark

Hardback Editions

January 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: A Map of the Dark (The Searchers)
Author(s): Karen Ellis
ISBN: 1-4736-6277-X / 978-1-4736-6277-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Mulholland Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: A Map of the Dark (The Searchers)
Author(s): Karen Ellis
ISBN: 0-316-50566-8 / 978-0-316-50566-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Mulholland Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

November 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: A Map of the Dark (The Searchers)
Author(s): Karen Ellis
ISBN: 0-316-50568-4 / 978-0-316-50568-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Mulholland Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


October 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: A Map of the Dark (The Searchers)
Author(s): Karen Ellis
ISBN: 1-4736-6280-X / 978-1-4736-6280-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Mulholland Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


January 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: A Map of the Dark (The Searchers)
Author(s): Karen Ellis
ISBN: 1-4736-6278-8 / 978-1-4736-6278-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Mulholland Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

January 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Map of the Dark
Author(s): Karen Ellis
Publisher: Mulholland Books
Availability: Amazon   


January 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Map of the Dark
Author(s): Karen Ellis
Publisher: Mulholland Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


January 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Map of the Dark: The Searchers, Book 1
Author(s): Karen Ellis
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Availability: Amazon   


January 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Map of the Dark: The Searchers, Book 1
Author(s): Karen Ellis
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


January 2018 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: A Map of the Dark
Author(s): Karen Ellis
ISBN: 1-5491-4041-8 / 978-1-5491-4041-9
Publisher: Hachette Audio and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


January 2018 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: A Map of the Dark: Library Edition
Author(s): Karen Ellis
ISBN: 1-5491-4038-8 / 978-1-5491-4038-9
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

January 2018 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Map of the Dark (The Searchers Book 1)
Author(s): Karen Ellis
Publisher: Mulholland Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


January 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Map of the Dark (The Searchers)
Author(s): Karen Ellis
Publisher: Mulholland Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA