book cover of A Map of the Dark
Added by 11 of our members

A Map of the Dark

(2018)
(The first book in the Searchers series)
A novel by

 
 
To save a missing girl, FBI Agent Elsa Myers may have to lose herself...

"I absolutely love when I find a new mystery series to follow and enjoy!... I just couldn't stop reading... I loved the characters and want more! 4 out of 5 stars." Booked on a Feeling

Even as her father lies dying in a hospital north of New York City, FBI Agent Elsa Myers can't ignore a call for help. A teenage girl has disappeared from Forest Hills, Queens, and during the critical first hours of the case, a series of false leads obscures the fact that she did not go willingly.

As the hours tick by, and the search becomes a hunt for a man who may have been killing for years, Elsa's carefully compartmentalized world collapses around her. She finds missing people, but she knows too well how it feels to be lost. Everything she has buried--her fraught relationship with her sister and niece, her self-destructive past, her mother's death--threatens to resurface, with devastating consequences.

Can our most painful childhood secrets be forgotten? Or will they always find their way back into our adult lives? These questions lie at the heart of A Map of the Dark, a riveting portrait of a woman haunted by her family legacy, and a race-against-time thriller. Perfect for fans of Tana French, Megan Abbott, and Lisa Gardner.

What readers are saying about A Map of the Dark:

"This book was so good on so many levels.... Fantastic read, highly recommended." For The Love Of Books

"Loved this! A Map of the Dark has a super lead character who harnesses her own demons in order to help solve the case of three missing girls. I couldn't get up from my chair until I'd read it all!" Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

"Sometimes you find, amidst all the 'new and wonderful series' a book that marks the start of a series you think you will really like. This is such a book... It even brought a tear to my eyes. And it is not every day that I read a book that has this effect on me." Goodreads reviewer, 5 stars

"Wow, this was such a fast paced read... A Map of the Dark is an exciting start to a new series which I will certainly be keeping an eye on." Hooked From Page One

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Vivid, compelling and emotionally engaging, as the best crime novels are. Elsa is an unforgettable central character, damaged but determined. You know you are in good hands as the plot skilfully brings her past and her family into the investigation.... A perfect, deeply satisfying thriller that grips right to the end." - Jane Casey

"A taut, tense, exciting read with a sharp and very human protagonist." - Reed Farrel Coleman

"A riveting, breathless novel, equal parts police procedural and emotional personal journey. Karen Ellis's twisty plot, dark storytelling, and nail-biting action kept me reading far too late into the night. A triumph!" - Karen Dionne

"One of the most compelling psychological thrillers I've read in a long time... grabs you from the very first page and does not loosen its grip. I read this book in a day - I simply could not put it down - but I will be thinking about it for much longer." - Alison Gaylin

"A terrific novel, wonderfully written, richly populated, and utterly gripping from start to finish." - Chris Pavone

"Deftly plotted and packed with blind curves, A Map of the Dark careens into dangerous territory, where Karen Ellis entwines complex storylines with breakneck precision. A must-read for fans of taut, unpredictable psychological suspense." - Wendy Corsi Staub

"A Map of the Dark is a compelling and moving story of buried secrets and hidden demons." - Sarah Ward


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Karen Ellis's A Map of the Dark

Hardback Editions

January 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: A Map of the Dark (The Searchers)
Author(s): Karen Ellis
ISBN: 1-4736-6277-X / 978-1-4736-6277-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Mulholland Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


January 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: A Map of the Dark (The Searchers, 1)
Author(s): Karen Ellis
ISBN: 0-316-50566-8 / 978-0-316-50566-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Mulholland Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

November 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: A Map of the Dark (The Searchers, 1)
Author(s): Karen Ellis
ISBN: 0-316-50568-4 / 978-0-316-50568-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Mulholland Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: A Map of the Dark (The Searchers)
Author(s): Karen Ellis
ISBN: 1-4736-6280-X / 978-1-4736-6280-3 (UK edition)
Publisher: Mulholland Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: A Map of the Dark (The Searchers)
Author(s): Karen Ellis
ISBN: 1-4736-6278-8 / 978-1-4736-6278-0 (UK edition)
Publisher: Mulholland Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


Audio Editions

January 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Map of the Dark
Author(s): Karen Ellis
Publisher: Mulholland Books
Availability: Amazon   


January 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Map of the Dark
Author(s): Karen Ellis
Publisher: Mulholland Books
Availability: Amazon AU   


January 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Map of the Dark
Author(s): Karen Ellis
Publisher: Mulholland Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


January 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Map of the Dark: The Searchers, Book 1
Author(s): Karen Ellis
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Availability: Amazon   


January 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Map of the Dark: The Searchers, Book 1
Author(s): Karen Ellis
Publisher: Hachette Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


January 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: A Map of the Dark Lib/E
Author(s): Karen Ellis
ISBN: 1-5491-4038-8 / 978-1-5491-4038-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Hachette Book Group
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


January 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: A Map of the Dark
Author(s): Karen Ellis
ISBN: 1-5491-4041-8 / 978-1-5491-4041-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Hachette Audio and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Kindle Editions

January 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Map of the Dark (The Searchers)
Author(s): Karen Ellis
Publisher: Mulholland Books
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


January 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Map of the Dark (The Searchers Book 1)
Author(s): Karen Ellis
Publisher: Mulholland Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA