book cover of The Art of Death
Added by 30 of our members
 

The Art of Death

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
AN INTENSELY CREEPY SERIAL KILLER THRILLER DEBUT, FOR FANS OF CHRIS CARTER AND M. W. CRAVEN.

'A truly extraordinary crime novel' -
Lynda La Plante

'Written with a clear grasp of social media, the story simply bristles with invention - though it is not for the faint hearted' -
Daily Mail

'You couldn't ask for a more assured if startlingly graphic and gory debut' -
Irish Independent

'Satisfyingly gruesome fare' -
Financial Times

Death is an art, and he is the master . . .

Three glass cabinets appear in London's Trafalgar Square containing a gruesome art installation: the floating corpses of three homeless men. Shock turns to horror when it becomes clear that the bodies are real.

The cabinets are traced to @nonymous - an underground artist shrouded in mystery who makes a chilling promise:
MORE WILL FOLLOW.

Eighteen years ago, Detective Inspector Grace Archer escaped a notorious serial killer. Now, she and her caustic DS, Harry Quinn, must hunt down another.

As more bodies appear at London landmarks and murders are livestreamed on social media, their search for @nonymous becomes a desperate race against time. But what Archer doesn't know is that the killer is watching their every move - and he has his sights firmly set on her . . .

He is creating a masterpiece. And she will be the star of his show.

Praise for The Art of Death:

'I flew through it . . . tense, gripping and brilliantly inventive'
SIMON LELIC

'Unsettling, fast-paced, suspenseful and gripping . . . Excellent'
WILL DEAN

'A serial killer thriller with the darkest of hearts'
FIONA CUMMINS

'A tense-as-hell high-body count page turner, but a rarer thing too - one that's also full of genuine warmth and humanity'
WILLIAM SHAW

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"A stunning start to what promises to be a fantastic new series. The Art of Death is layered, twisty and so deliciously dark. A hero for our age; DI Grace Archer is fierce and relentless, intuitive and driven, yet underneath the mask she wears, she's also surprisingly vulnerable and just a little bit damaged. I can't wait to see what she gets up to next." - M W Craven

"A serial killer thriller with the darkest of hearts, David Fennell more than earns his place at the crime fiction table with this superb exploration of a psychopath with the creepiest modus operandi I've read in a long time, and a flawed yet brilliant detective." - Fiona Cummins

"A hugely compelling procedural thriller set in London. Unsettling, fast-paced, suspenseful and gripping. Loved the way the cityscape was rendered. Excellent." - Will Dean

"Have just finished this hair-raisingly dark thriller . . . you won't be able to put it down." - Araminta Hall

"A serial killer classic in the making, The Art of Death is neatly plotted, perfectly paced and brilliantly characterised with a clever concept that hooks you in and holds you tight, right up to the extremely satisfying final page." - Susi Holliday

"A gritty, dark thriller. Perfect for fans of Chris Carter." - Olivia Kiernan

"I flew through it . . . Tense, gripping and brilliantly inventive." - Simon Lelic

"Chilling, unsettling and wonderfully atmospheric, it grips from first page to last. I hope we'll be hearing much more from Fennell and his brilliant detective, Grace Archer." - Brian McGilloway

"A tense-as-hell high-body count page turner, but a rarer thing too - one that's also full of genuine warmth and humanity." - William Shaw


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for David Fennell's The Art of Death


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors