book cover of The Trailing Spouse
Added by 3 of our members

The Trailing Spouse

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
Do you really want to know the truth?

Amanda Bonham moved halfway around the world to be with the man she loves. Although expat life in Singapore can be difficult, Edward Bonham is a dream husband and a doting father to his teenage daughter, Josie.

But when their maid dies in an apparent suicide-and Amanda discovers the woman was pregnant and hiding a stash of drugs prescribed to Edward-she can't help but wonder if her perfect husband has a fatal flaw. And if he can't resist temptation under their own roof, what does he get up to when he travels?

Camille Kemble also has questions for Edward. Recently returned to Singapore, Camille is determined to resolve a family mystery. Amid a jumble of faded childhood memories, she keeps seeing Edward's handsome face. And she wants to know why.

For one woman, the search for answers threatens everything she has. For another, it's the key to all she lost. Both will follow his trail of secrets into the darkness to find the truth.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Wildly exotic and compulsively readable, The Trailing Spouse is a thrilling story of trust and betrayal. When Amanda Bonham’s luxurious life begins to unravel in a storm of deceit and growing mistrust, she discovers that her seemingly perfect marriage may indeed be nothing more than a gilded cage. Tension builds as Amanda races the clock to uncover the secrets her husband is hiding, and the explosive conclusion will leave readers breathless." - Nicole Baart

"A beautifully written, evocative psychological thriller rife with secrets, misdirection, and intrigue. The Trailing Spouse kept me enthralled straight through to the shocking final twist. A must-read!" - A J Banner

"An exotic setting, characters chock-full of questionable motives, and slow-burning intrigue blend together in this utterly unique domestic thriller (or psychological suspense). As swept up as I was in the glittering, privileged world of British expats in Singapore and the secrets they hide in their glamorous air-conditioned glass penthouses, I was equally gobsmacked by the final reveal." - Emily Carpenter

"From the very first sexy, sinister, and all-out thrilling chapter, The Trailing Spouse grabs you by the collar and never lets go. Against the glittering backdrop of contemporary Singapore, Furniss’s expat characters navigate their adopted home—and, at times, their adopted identities—searching for answers amid the darkness that lines even the shiniest of places. This is a mesmerizing domestic thriller that both terrifies and enchants." - Kirstin Chen

"With an elegant hand and a clinical gaze, Furniss draws readers into the ex-pat society of Singapore, a world of careless wealth and casual cruelty. The Trailing Spouse is a quiet, haunting force of a novel, woven with stunning turns of phrase, haunting characters, and terrifying plot twists. Fans of Megan Abbott, Emily Carpenter, and Mary Kubica should add Jo Furniss to their list of must-reads. I was sad to finish it and I cannot wait for Jo Furniss’s next work." - Amber Cowie

"Clever. Different. Addictive. A well-written treat with a truly haunting lens on ex-pat life in Singapore. Bravo!" - Teresa Driscoll

"I devoured every page of this tense, intriguing novel. The Singapore setting and the portrayal of expat life there was so meticulously rendered, it’s what really made this thriller stand out for me. I love Jo’s writing style and highly recommend The Trailing Spouse. An elegant, exotic, and enthralling read." - Catherine Ryan Howard

"In The Trailing Spouse, Jo Furniss takes us into the heart of expat culture in Singapore. The vivid surroundings ring true in this mystery set in an unraveling marriage. A fascinating look at life ensconced in an unfamiliar culture." - Catherine McKenzie

"A tale of mystery and intrigue that had me gripped from page one." - Caroline Mitchell


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Class A
(CHERUB, book 2)
Robert Muchamore

Used availability for Jo Furniss's The Trailing Spouse

Paperback Editions

August 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Trailing Spouse
Author(s): Jo Furniss
ISBN: 1-5039-4921-4 / 978-1-5039-4921-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Lake Union Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

August 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Trailing Spouse
Author(s): Jo Furniss
ISBN: 1-5436-5991-8 / 978-1-5436-5991-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2018 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Trailing Spouse, The
Author(s): Jo Furniss
ISBN: 1-5436-5992-6 / 978-1-5436-5992-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Trailing Spouse
Author(s): Jo Furniss
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   


August 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Trailing Spouse
Author(s): Jo Furniss
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


August 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Trailing Spouse
Author(s): Jo Furniss
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


August 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Trailing Spouse
Author(s): Jo Furniss
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

August 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Trailing Spouse
Author(s): Jo Furniss
Publisher: Lake Union Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU