book cover of The Grey Bastards
Added by 15 of our members

The Grey Bastards

(2015)
(The first book in the Lot Lands series)
A novel by

 
 
***The number one ebook bestseller***

'AN ADDICTIVELY READABLE - AND UNDENIABLY COOL - FANTASY MASTERWORK' Kirkus

'FILTHY, CHARISMATIC AND FRANKLY EXCELLENT' Mark Lawrence

BRING ON THE ORCS . . .

Jackal is proud to be a Grey Bastard, member of a sworn brotherhood of half-orcs. Unloved and unwanted in civilized society, the Bastards eke out a hard life in the desolate no-man's-land called the Lots, protecting frail and noble human civilization from invading bands of vicious full-blooded orcs.

But as Jackal is soon to learn, his pride may be misplaced. Because a dark secret lies at the heart of the Bastards' existence - one that reveals a horrifying truth behind humanity's tenuous peace with the orcs, and exposes a grave danger on the horizon.

On the heels of the ultimate betrayal, Jackal must scramble to stop a devastating invasion - even as he wonders where his true loyalties lie.

A standout adventure fantasy debut that's down, dirty and damn good fun - perfect for fans of Joe Abercombie, Mark Lawrence, Markus Heitz's Dwarves series and Stan Nicholl's Orcs series.

'A gritty adventure with a fantastic, foul-mouthed voice . . . Fans of Abercrombie's The First Law . . . will like this a lot' Django Wexler

'A bloody good tale of battle, betrayal and war pigs' Brian McClellan

'Jonathan French has to be lauded for his plot ingenuity, bawdry charm and vicious characters. The Grey Bastards has instantaneously catapulted him into my must-read list' Fantasy Book Critic

'I'd like to raise a tankard to The Grey Bastards' brilliance' Fantasy Faction

Genre: Fantasy

Praise for this book

"A filthy, charismatic and frankly excellent read." - Mark Lawrence

"The Grey Bastards dragged me in immediately. A bloody good tale of battles, intrigue, betrayal, duty and frickin' war pigs." - Brian McClellan

"A funny thing happens when reading The Grey Bastards. You’re rolling along, smiling at the novelties on display, but then, almost without warning, you find yourself truly in the world French has created, and it all becomes wonderfully familiar and convincing. The world-building creates exactly the kind of seamless transition that makes fantasy literature compelling, informative, and just plain fun." - R A Salvatore

"French flips the fantasy script as the monsters become the good guys, fueling an action-packed, sneakily smart adventure. Half orc and all badass, Jackal is a hero you won't soon forget." - Scott Sigler

"A gritty adventure with a fantastic, foul-mouthed voice and filthy, lovable characters in a wonderfully original world. Fans of Abercrombie’s THE FIRST LAW or the soldierly banter of Erikson’s MALAZAN BOOK OF THE FALLEN will like this a lot." - Django Wexler


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Holy Sister
(Book of the Ancestor, book 3)
Mark Lawrence
thumb
A Little Hatred
(Age of Madness, book 1)
Joe Abercrombie

Used availability for Jonathan French's The Grey Bastards

Hardback Editions

June 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Grey Bastards: A Novel (The Lot Lands)
Author(s): Jonathan French
ISBN: 0-525-57244-9 / 978-0-525-57244-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Crown
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

March 2019 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Grey Bastards: A Novel (The Lot Lands)
Author(s): Jonathan French
ISBN: 0-525-57245-7 / 978-0-525-57245-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Broadway Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


June 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: The Grey Bastards (The Lot Lands)
Author(s): Jonathan French
ISBN: 0-356-51164-2 / 978-0-356-51164-1 (UK edition)
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


June 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Grey Bastards the Mr Exp
Author(s): Jonathan French
ISBN: 0-525-57583-9 / 978-0-525-57583-2 (USA edition)
Publisher: Penguin Random House USA Xex
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


October 2015 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Grey Bastards
Author(s): Jonathan French
ISBN: 0-9882845-5-3 / 978-0-9882845-5-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Jonathan French
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

June 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Grey Bastards: The Lot Lands
Author(s): Jonathan French
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Availability: Amazon   


June 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Grey Bastards: The Lot Lands
Author(s): Jonathan French
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Availability: Amazon AU   


June 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Grey Bastards: The Lot Lands
Author(s): Jonathan French
Publisher: Little, Brown Book Group
Availability: Amazon UK   


June 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Grey Bastards: A Novel
Author(s): Jonathan French
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon   


June 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Grey Bastards: A Novel
Author(s): Jonathan French
Publisher: Random House Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

June 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Grey Bastards (The Lot Lands)
Author(s): Jonathan French
Publisher: Orbit
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


June 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Grey Bastards: A Novel (The Lot Lands Book 1)
Author(s): Jonathan French
Publisher: Crown
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA