Michael Frayn's picture
102 books added

Michael Frayn

UK flag (b.1933)

Michael Frayn was born in London in 1933 and began his career as a journalist on the Guardian and the Observer. His novels include 'Towards the End of the Morning', 'The Trick of It' and 'A Landing on the Sun'. 'Headlong' was shortlisted for the 1999 Booker Prize, Whitbread Novel Prize and the James Tait Black Memorial Prize for Fiction. His most recent novel, 'Spies', is now available in paperback. His thirteen plays range from 'Noises Off' to 'Copenhagen', and he has translated a number of works, mostly from Russian. He is married to the biographer and critic Claire Tomalin.

Genres: Literary Fiction
   The Tin Men (1965)
   The Russian Interpreter (1966)
   Towards the End of the Morning (1967)
     aka Against Entropy
   A Very Private Life (1968)
   Sweet Dreams (1973)
   The Trick of It (1989)
   A Landing On the Sun (1991)
   Headlong (1999)
   Spies (2002)
   Skios (2012)
   The Two of Us (1970)
   Listen To This (1990)
Novellas and Short Stories
   Celia's Secret (2000) (with David Burke)
Plays show
Non fiction show
Michael Frayn recommends
The Upstairs Room (2017)
Kate Murray-Browne
"A very impressive debut. The story is played out in an unsettling narrative that makes you want to read on to the end."
Five Rivers Met On a Wooded Plain (2016)
Barney Norris
"Wonderful...I was hooked from the first page. It's real stuff."

2002 Whitbread Prize for Best Novel : Spies
2002 Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize : Spies

Award nominations
2013 Bollinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize (nominee) : Skios
2012 Booker Prize (longlist) : Skios
2002 Booker Prize (longlist) : Spies
1999 Whitbread Prize for Best Novel (nominee) : Headlong
1999 James Tait Black Memorial Prize (nominee) : Headlong
1999 Booker Prize (shortlist) : Headlong

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors