Pamela Freeman's picture

Pamela Freeman

Australia (b.1960)

Pamela Freeman is an award-winning Australian author of books for both adults and children. She also writes historical fiction as Pamela Hart. Most of her work as Pamela Freeman is fantasy but she has also written science fiction, mystery stories, family dramas and non-fiction. Her first adult series, the Castings Trilogy (Blood Ties, Deep Water and Full Circle) is published globally by Orbit books, and was followed by a stand alone from the same universe, Ember and Ash (Aurealis Award Winner, Best Fantasy Novel).

Pamela's new series for children, the Princess Betony series, is published by Walker Books. Her best known children's books are the junior novels Victor's Quest and Victor's Challenge (Aurealis Award Winner - Best Children's Fantasy) and an associated series, the Floramonde books, and for The Black Dress: Mary MacKillop's Early Years, which won the NSW Premier's History Prize in 2006. As well as the Aurealis Award, Pamela's children's books have also been shortlisted for the NSW State Literary Awards, the Children's Book Council Book of the Year Awards, the Koala Awards and the Wilderness Society Environment Awards.

Genres: Children's Fiction, Fantasy, Young Adult Fantasy
   Shipborn (2002)
     aka The Fastest Ship in Space
   The Black Dress (2010)
   Ember and Ash (2011)
Chapter Books
   Lollylegs (2013)
Non fiction
   All for Love (1995)
   Pole to Pole (2000)
no image availablethumb
Series contributed to

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors