Damon Galgut's picture

Damon Galgut

South Africa (b.1963)

Damon Galgut was born in Pretoria in 1963. He wrote his first novel, A Sinless Season, when he was seventeen. His other books include A Small Circle of Beings, The Beautiful Screaming of Pigs and The Quarry. He lives in Cape Town.

Genres: Literary Fiction
Booker Prize Best Novel nominee (2003) : The Good Doctor
International IMPAC Dublin Literary Awards Best Novel nominee (2005) : The Good Doctor
Booker Prize Best Novel nominee (2010) : In a Strange Room
Walter Scott Prize Best Historical Novel nominee (2015) : Arctic Summer
Booker Prize Best Novel winner (2021) : The Promise

Damon Galgut recommends
Burntcoat (2021)
Sarah Hall
"Sarah Hall makes language shimmer and burn. She's not afraid of big themes and has the talent to back up her ambition, but she's just as good at the intimate and domestic... One of the finest writers at work today."
God's Children Are Little Broken Things (2022)
Arinze Ifeakandu
"Although he writes about queer lives and loves in Nigeria, Arinze Ifeakandu's voice is sensually alert to the human and universal in every situation. These quietly transgressive stories are the work of a brilliant new talent."

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors