book cover of Letters Across the Sea
Added by 7 of our members

Letters Across the Sea

(2021)
A novel by

 
 
Inspired by a little-known chapter of World War II history, a young Protestant girl and her Jewish neighbour are caught up in the terrible wave of hate sweeping the globe on the eve of war in this powerful love story that’s perfect for fans of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Pie Society.

If you’re reading this letter, that means I’m dead. I had obviously hoped to see you again, to explain in person, but fate had other plans.

1933

At eighteen years old, Molly Ryan dreams of becoming a journalist, but instead she spends her days working any job she can to help her family through the Depression crippling her city. The one bright spot in her life is watching baseball with her best friend, Hannah Dreyfus, and sneaking glances at Hannah’s handsome older brother, Max.

But as the summer unfolds, more and more of Hitler’s hateful ideas cross the sea and “Swastika Clubs” and “No Jews Allowed” signs spring up around Toronto, a city already simmering with mass unemployment, protests, and unrest. When tensions between the Irish and Jewish communities erupt in a riot one smouldering day in August, Molly and Max are caught in the middle, with devastating consequences for both their families.

1939

Six years later, the Depression has eased and Molly is a reporter at her local paper. But a new war is on the horizon, putting everyone she cares about most in peril. As letters trickle in from overseas, Molly is forced to confront what happened all those years ago, but is it too late to make things right?

From the desperate streets of Toronto to the embattled shores of Hong Kong, Letters Across the Sea is a poignant novel about the enduring power of love to cross dangerous divides even in the darkest of times—from the #1 bestselling author of The Forgotten Home Child.

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"Time and time again, Genevieve Graham shows us just how fascinating our past is." - Jennifer Robson


Similar books by other authors


Paperback Editions

March 2021 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Letters Across the Sea
Author(s): Genevieve Graham
ISBN: 1-982156-63-5 / 978-1-982156-63-3
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2021 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Letters Across the Sea
Author(s): Genevieve Graham
ISBN: 1-982169-34-6 / 978-1-982169-34-3
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2021 : USA, Australia, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Letters Across the Sea
Author(s): Genevieve Graham
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2021 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Letters Across the Sea
Author(s): Genevieve Graham
Publisher: Simon & Schuster
Availability: Amazon UK