Gloria Gay's picture
10 books added

Gloria Gay

The idea of seriously becoming a writer struck Writer/Artist Gloria Gay in the early seventies when she read the first line of "Rebecca" and became enchanted with Manderley. She began to write a suspense novel right away and when she finished it she wrote to Daphne Du Maurier, the author of "Rebecca." She asked the author if Manderley was real or imagined. She was delightfully surprised when Ms. Du Maurier replied to her letter, graciously explaining about Manderley and including some snapshots of Menabilly, the home where she and her husband lived and which had inspired her in part, although, as Ms. Du Maurier said in her letter, the larger idea of Manderley was inspired by a visit she made to a large estate, Milton, in the Midlands. Gloria considers this letter to be one of her dearest treasures which she keeps in a safe place. Gloria searched for similar novels and discovered gothic novels, which she read by the truckload and she completed a second gothic. Yet when she read gothic novels she felt that although there was mystery and suspense in them there was little romance. Then she re-discovered Jane Austen which she had read in high school and after reading all six books by Jane Austen she found Georgette Heyer and read almost as many Regencies as she had read gothics. By now she was convinced that it was Regency novels she wanted to write although simultaneously she chipped away at the enormous research of another novel she was writing based in California before and during the United States' war with Mexico. Her self-published Regency romance, First Season, earned a four star review from Romantic Times Book Review. She went on to publish Forced Offer, Canceled Courtship and Known to All. Then in the years 2013 and 2014, Boroughs Publishing Group published her two Regency romances, Lovely Little Liar and Scandal at Almack's.

Gloria Gay lives with her husband, an architect, in San Diego, California and she is happy (and very lucky) to have her children and grand-children living nearby.

   First Season (2001)
   Forced Offer (2001)
   Canceled Courtship (2003)
   Known to All (2007)
   Lovely Little Liar (2014)
   Scandal at Almack's (2014)
   Kissed in the Dark (2014)
   Love in a Dangerous Season (2015)
   Enchanted Summer (2015)
   A Bridge Through Time (2015)
   The Road to Winterhill (2016)
   Fate is a Stranger (2016)
   Forever Young (2017)
     aka Forever Young: A Time Travel Romance
   Midnight Proposal (2018)
   Searching For Lydia (2019)
Novellas and Short Stories

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors