book cover of Empire City
Added by 1 of our members

Empire City

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
Empire City is a dark, nimble book that pulls no punches. While the novel tracks an alternate historical reality, time and again I found myself taken aback at just how prescient and applicable its insight is to our very real present. Gallagher once again establishes himself as a preeminent voice in American writing.” —Sara Novic, award-winning author of Girl at War

“A brilliant and daring novel. Gallagher’s prose is sharp, energetic and witty, his characters are fiercely alive, and the cracked vision of America he creates is a monstrous thing of beauty.” —Phil Klay, award-winning author of Redeployment

The author of the “urgent and deeply moving” (TheNew York Times) Youngblood returns with this bold and provocative novel following a group of super-powered soldiers and civilians as they navigate an imperial America on the precipice of a major upheaval—for fans of The Fortress of Solitude and The Plot Against America.

Thirty years after its great triumph in Vietnam, the United States has again become mired in an endless foreign war overseas. Stories of super soldiers known as the Volunteers tuck in little American boys and girls every night. Yet domestic politics are aflame. Violent protests erupt throughout the nation; an ex-military watchdog group clashes with police while radical terrorists threaten to expose government experiments within the veteran rehabilitation colonies.

Halfway between war and peace, the Volunteers find themselves waiting for orders in the vast American city-state, Empire City. There they encounter a small group of civilians who know the truth about their powers, including Sebastian Rios, a young bureaucrat wrestling with survivor guilt, and Mia Tucker, a wounded army pilot-turned-Wall Street banker. Meanwhile, Jean-Jacques Saint-Preux, a Haitian-American Volunteer from the International Legion, decides he’ll do whatever it takes to return to the front lines.

Through it all, a controversial retired general emerges as a frontrunner in the presidential campaign, promising to save the country from itself. Her election would mean unprecedented military control over the country, with promises of security and stability—but at what cost?

Featuring Gallagher’s “vital” (The Washington Post), “evocative” (TheWall Street Journal) prose, Empire City is a rousing vision of an alternate—yet all too familiar—America on the brink.

Genre: Thriller

Praise for this book

"A brilliant and daring novel. Gallagher’s prose is sharp, energetic and witty, his characters are fiercely alive, and the cracked vision of America he creates is a monstrous thing of beauty." - Phil Klay

"Empire City is a dark, nimble book that pulls no punches. While the novel tracks an alternate historical reality, time and again I found myself taken aback at just how prescient and applicable its insight is to our very real present. Gallagher once again establishes himself as a preeminent voice in American writing." - Sara Novic

"Empire City is a passionate, scary, wise, and perhaps even prophetic novel, one that can be appreciated on numerous levels. Set in an alternate world in which the U.S. has emerged triumphant from the Vietnam War, this book has the feel of a powerful admonition and warning, but it also has the dislocating, heart-thumping feel of a nightmare. Matt Gallagher has populated his story with characters undergoing ferocious moral struggles in response to an America teetering on the edge of cataclysm." - Tim O'Brien


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Without Sanction
(Matt Drake, book 1)
Don Bentley
thumb
The Bells of Hell
(Welker & Saboy, book 1)
Michael Kurland

Used availability for Matt Gallagher's Empire City

Hardback Editions

April 2020 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Empire City: A Novel
Author(s): Matt Gallagher
ISBN: 1-5011-7779-6 / 978-1-5011-7779-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

January 2021 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Empire City: A Novel
Author(s): Matt Gallagher
ISBN: 1-5011-7780-X / 978-1-5011-7780-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Washington Square Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

April 2020 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Empire City: A Novel
Author(s): Matt Gallagher
ISBN: 1-79710-376-8 / 978-1-79710-376-1
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio and Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Empire City: A Novel
Author(s): Matt Gallagher
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


April 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Empire City: A Novel
Author(s): Matt Gallagher
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


April 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Empire City: A Novel
Author(s): Matt Gallagher
Publisher: Simon & Schuster Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Empire City: A Novel
Author(s): Matt Gallagher
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


April 2020 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Empire City: A Novel
Author(s): Matt Gallagher
Publisher: Atria Books
Availability: Amazon UK