book cover of Compass and Blade
Added by 5 members
 

Compass and Blade

(2024)
(The first book in the Compass and Blade Trilogy series)
A novel by

 
 
Get ready to be swept away. An irresistible YA romantasy – perfect for fans of Alexandra Christo, Sarah Underwood and Shelby Mahurin

Romance. Betrayal. Magic. The YA romantasy debut of 2024.

Mira is a wrecker, one of the seven chosen to swim out and plunder the wrecked ships beyond the Isle of Rosevear. The waves sing to her soul, the call of the sea beckoning her into deeper waters. But Rosevear needs her, and she could never abandon her home. Until one evening when lightning splits the sky and the Watch descend, taking Mira’s father away.

Mira must set off on a journey to win back her father’s freedom. She will encounter two strangers along the way – enigmatic Seth and smouldering Elijah – and learning who to trust will not be easy. When she discovers a dark family secret, buried deep in the ocean, Mira finds that securing her future – and that of her island – will come at a high price . . .

‘A magical tale with a lot of heart’ Alexandra Christo, author of To Kill a Kingdom

‘Brimming with wild magic, adventure and dreamy romance’ Catherine Doyle, co-author of Twin Crowns

‘Greenlaw’s immersive voice and skilful world-building shine’ Adrienne Young, author of Fable

‘An addictive blend of lyrical prose, shimmering magic and whip-sharp pacing’ Laura Steven, author of The Society for Soulless Girls

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Praise for this book

"I devoured Compass and Blade. I flew through each page of lyrical prose and swashbuckling adventure. Readers will be truly captivated by Mira and her journey to find her father and herself along the way. I know I was. A magical, seafaring tale with a lot of heart." - Alexandra Christo

"Brimming with wild magic, adventure and dreamy romance, Compass and Blade is a tale to treasure. I was swept away by this enchanting, sea-spun fantasy!" - Catherine Doyle

"A pulse-pounding, sea-faring adventure steeped in magic, romance, secrets and betrayal. So immersive and exciting and richly atmospheric - I couldn't put this story down." - Aisling Fowler

"Greenlaw's Compass and Blade beautifully blends lyrical prose, a propulsive narrative and dynamic characters into a tale that will be sure to enchant readers from the very first page. Mira is as fierce as she is brave and empathetic, and her story is utterly unputdownable. What a brilliant addition to the young adult fantasy canon." - Ayana Gray

"A gripping, atmospheric fantasy of saltwater kisses, sharp-edged secrets and the siren call of the deep sea - I couldn't turn the pages fast enough." - Kika Hatzopoulou

"Romantic and full of high-seas action and adventure . . . Compass and Blade features witch's magic, a neatly guarded family secret and a romance that may or may not involve pressing a knife to the throat. Brimming with fantasy and lore, Compass and Blade is a story that poured out from the heart." - Gabriela Romero Lacruz

"A turbulent voyage of romance and intrigue, Compass and Blade is a stunning fantasy that will ensnare readers until the very last twist. Magical islands, mythical beasts and underwater lore combine in this vivacious YA debut." - Jessica S Olson

"A heart-pounding sea adventure, with descriptions so visceral, you can taste the salt on the wind. Mira feels so raw and real that you can't help but root for her, and the romance burns in just the right way. Compass and Blade will drag you under the waves and you won't want to come up for air." - Cyla Panin

"An addictive blend of lyrical prose, shimmering magic and whip-sharp pacing - fans of Fable and Daughter of the Pirate King will devour this." - Laura Steven

"Greenlaw's immersive voice and skilful world building shine in this YA debut, a feast for fantasy lovers and dreamers alike." - Adrienne Young


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Rachel Greenlaw's Compass and Blade


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors