New Authors     New Books     Coming Soon     Most Popular     Top Authors    
Diana Wynne Jones's picture

Diana Wynne Jones

UK (1934 - 2011)

Diana Wynne Jones was a British writer, principally of fantasy novels for children and adults, as well as a small amount of non-fiction. Some of her better-known works include the Chrestomanci series and the novels Howl's Moving Castle and Dark Lord of Derkholm.




Picture Books
Series contributed to
Anthologies edited
Non fiction
Anthologies containing stories by Diana Wynne Jones

Short stories
Who Got Rid of Angus Flint? [short story] (1978)
The Four Grannies (1980)
Dragon Reserve, Home Eight (1984)
The Green Stone (1988)
Chair Person [short story] (1989)
The Master (1989)
Mela Worms (1989)
Nad and Dan adn Quaffy (1990)

World Fantasy Best Novel nominee (1985) : Archer's Goon
Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature Best Book nominee (1986) : Fire and Hemlock
British Fantasy Society Best Novel nominee (1996) : A Sudden Wild Magic
World Fantasy Lifetime Achievement winner (2007)
Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature Best Children/Young Adult Fiction nominee (2009) : House of Many Ways
Mythopoeic Fantasy Award for Adult Literature Best Children/Young Adult Fiction nominee (2015) : The Islands of Chaldea

Books about Diana Wynne Jones
Diana Wynne Jones recommends

The Thief Lord (2000)
Cornelia Funke
"My enjoyment of Thief Lord grew and grew as I read it... and I loved the offbeat ending."

Coraline (2002)
Neil Gaiman
"The most splendidly original, weird, and frightening book I have read, and yet full of things children will love."
Ingledove (2005)
Marly Youmans
"Ingledove is a marvelous book. I loved it."

Cryoburn (2010)
(Vorkosigan, book 16)
Lois McMaster Bujold
"It is such a delight to read something by such a good writer, who now seems to be writing at the height of her powers. . . I really have seldom enjoyed a book so much . . I couldn't turn the pages fast enough."

Found (2010)
(Magic Thief, book 3)
Sarah Prineas
"I couldn't put it down. Wonderful, exciting stuff!"

Frogspell (2011)
(Frogspell, book 1)
C J Busby
"Great fun!"

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors
Robert Jordan
Robin Hobb
Anthony Horowitz
Brandon Sanderson
Patrick Rothfuss
Rick Riordan
George R R Martin
James Patterson
Jim Butcher
Brian Jacques
Terry Pratchett
Diana Gabaldon
Pittacus Lore
Sarah J Maas
Neil Gaiman

Search for