book cover of Black-Eyed Susans
Added by 23 of our members

Black-Eyed Susans

(2015)
A novel by

 
 
TOP 5 SUNDAY TIMES AND USA TODAY BESTSELLER • For fans of Laura Lippman and Gillian Flynn comes an electrifying novel of stunning psychological suspense.

I am the star of screaming headlines and campfire ghost stories. I am one of the four Black-Eyed Susans. The lucky one.

As a sixteen-year-old, Tessa Cartwright was found in a Texas field, barely alive amid a scattering of bones, with only fragments of memory as to how she got there. Ever since, the press has pursued her as the lone surviving “Black-Eyed Susan,” the nickname given to the murder victims because of the yellow carpet of wildflowers that flourished above their shared grave. Tessa’s testimony about those tragic hours put a man on death row.

Now, almost two decades later, Tessa is an artist and single mother. In the desolate cold of February, she is shocked to discover a freshly planted patch of black-eyed susans—a summertime bloom—just outside her bedroom window. Terrified at the implications—that she sent the wrong man to prison and the real killer remains at large—Tessa turns to the lawyers working to exonerate the man awaiting execution. But the flowers alone are not proof enough, and the forensic investigation of the still-unidentified bones is progressing too slowly. An innocent life hangs in the balance. The legal team appeals to Tessa to undergo hypnosis to retrieve lost memories—and to share the drawings she produced as part of an experimental therapy shortly after her rescue.

What they don’t know is that Tessa and the scared, fragile girl she was have built a  fortress of secrets. As the clock ticks toward the execution, Tessa fears for her sanity, but even more for the safety of her teenaged daughter. Is a serial killer still roaming free, taunting Tessa with a trail of clues? She has no choice but to confront old ghosts and lingering nightmares to finally discover what really happened that night.

Shocking, intense, and utterly original, Black-Eyed Susans is a dazzling psychological thriller, seamlessly weaving past and present in a searing tale of a young woman whose harrowing memories remain in a field of flowers—as a killer makes a chilling return to his garden.

This ebook edition contains a special preview of Julia Heaberlin’s Paper Ghosts.

Praise for Black-Eyed Susans

“A masterful thriller that shouldn’t be missed . . . brilliantly conceived, beautifully executed . . . [Julia] Heaberlin’s work calls to mind that of Gillian Flynn. Both writers published impressive early novels that were largely overlooked, and then one that couldn’t be: Flynn’s Gone Girl and now Heaberlin’s Black-Eyed Susans. Don’t miss it.”The Washington Post

“[A] gem of a novel . . . richly textured, beautifully written . . . Tension builds, and the plot twists feel earned as well as genuinely surprising.”TheBoston Globe

“A tense, slow-burning, beautifully written novel of survival and hope. Highly recommended.”—William Landay, New York Times bestselling author of Defending Jacob

“My book of the year so far . . . breathtakingly, heart-stoppingly brilliant.”—Sophie Hannah, New York Times bestselling author of The Monogram Murders

“Deliciously twisty and eerie, Heaberlin’s third psychological suspense novel is intricately layered and instantly compelling.”Library Journal (starred review)

“Brilliant . . . a breakout book.”Fort Worth Star-Telegram

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"The spectacularly dark and twisty story of what happened to one young Texas girl, and the ghosts who refuse to let her rest. I didn’t want it to end—but I couldn’t put it down." - Carla Buckley

"Utterly riveting and relentlessly creepy, Black-Eyed Susans will keep you up into the late hours turning pages and checking your locks." - Deb Caletti

"A spellbinding tale, at once both completely believable and utterly suspenseful—and once you reach the novel’s perfect ending, you will want to read it again." - David R Dow

"My book of the year so far. Breathtakingly, heart-stoppingly brilliant." - Sophie Hannah

"A tense, slow-burning, beautifully written novel of survival and hope. Highly recommended." - William Landay

"This twisted tale is disturbing in the best way, rife with suspense and rich in eerie detail. I would recommend Black-Eyed Susans to anyone who enjoys psychological thrillers—it’s a deeply creepy page-turner that you won’t want to put down." - Laura McHugh

"A twisted tale of how evil makes its mark, Black-Eyed Susans winds a net around the reader, shifting time, perspective, and events until the only sure thing is the pulsing question at the heart of this novel: What happens when a ruthless predator leaves one of his victims alive?" - Jenny Milchman


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Buried
(Tom Thorne, book 6)
Mark Billingham

Used availability for Julia Heaberlin's Black-Eyed Susans

Hardback Editions

February 2016 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Black-Eyed Susans: A Novel of Suspense (Thorndike Press Large Print Peer Picks)
Author(s): Julia Heaberlin
ISBN: 1-4104-8640-0 / 978-1-4104-8640-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thorndike Press Large Print
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


August 2015 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Black-Eyed Susans
Author(s): Julia Heaberlin
ISBN: 0-7181-8133-6 / 978-0-7181-8133-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: Michael Joseph
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2015 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Black-Eyed Susans: A Novel of Suspense
Author(s): Julia Heaberlin
ISBN: 0-8041-7799-6 / 978-0-8041-7799-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

July 2019 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Black-Eyed Susans (Penguin Picks)
Author(s): Julia Heaberlin
ISBN: 1-4059-4112-X / 978-1-4059-4112-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


May 2016 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Black-Eyed Susans: A Novel of Suspense
Author(s): Julia Heaberlin
ISBN: 0-8041-7801-1 / 978-0-8041-7801-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


August 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Black-Eyed Susans
Author(s): Julia Heaberlin
ISBN: 1-4059-2127-7 / 978-1-4059-2127-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2015 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Black-Eyed Susans
Author(s): Julia Heaberlin
ISBN: 1-4059-2128-5 / 978-1-4059-2128-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon UK   


Audio Editions

September 2016 : UK Audio CD

Title: Black-Eyed Susans
Author(s): Julia Heaberlin
ISBN: 1-4450-5909-6 / 978-1-4450-5909-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: ISIS Audio Books
Availability: Amazon UK   


May 2016 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Black-Eyed Susans: A Novel of Suspense
Author(s): Julia Heaberlin
ISBN: 1-5012-3742-X / 978-1-5012-3742-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


May 2016 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Black-Eyed Susans
Author(s): Julia Heaberlin
ISBN: 1-5226-4890-9 / 978-1-5226-4890-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


August 2015 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Black Eyed Susans
Author(s): Julia Heaberlin
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon   


August 2015 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Black Eyed Susans
Author(s): Julia Heaberlin
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon AU   


August 2015 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Black Eyed Susans
Author(s): Julia Heaberlin
Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
Availability: Amazon UK   


August 2015 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Black-Eyed Susans: A Novel of Suspense
Author(s): Julia Heaberlin
ISBN: 1-5012-3739-X / 978-1-5012-3739-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


August 2015 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: Black-Eyed Susans: A Novel of Suspense
Author(s): Julia Heaberlin
ISBN: 1-5012-3740-3 / 978-1-5012-3740-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


August 2015 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Black-Eyed Susans
Author(s): Julia Heaberlin
ISBN: 1-5012-3741-1 / 978-1-5012-3741-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2015 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Black-Eyed Susans: A Novel of Suspense
Author(s): Julia Heaberlin
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   


August 2015 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Black-Eyed Susans: A Novel of Suspense
Author(s): Julia Heaberlin
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

August 2015 : Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Black-Eyed Susans (Penguin Picks)
Author(s): Julia Heaberlin
Publisher: Penguin
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


August 2015 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Black-Eyed Susans: A Novel of Suspense
Author(s): Julia Heaberlin
Publisher: Ballantine Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA