book cover of Happy and You Know It
Added by 4 of our members

Happy and You Know It

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
“For fans of Sex and the City and The Nanny Diaries comes this juicy story…that would make even the most meticulously Drybar-ed hair curl.”—Good Housekeeping

As seen in The Washington Post  Good Housekeeping  theSkimm  Good Morning America • ABC News  Book of the Month  Belletrist • OK! Magazine • Betches • Newsweek • Parade • New York Post Best Book of the Week


A dark, witty page-turner about a struggling young musician who takes a job singing for a playgroup of overprivileged babies and their effortlessly cool moms, only to find herself pulled into their glamorous lives and dangerous secrets....

 
After her former band shot to superstardom without her, Claire reluctantly agrees to a gig as a playgroup musician for wealthy infants on New York's Park Avenue. Claire is surprised to discover that she is smitten with her new employers, a welcoming clique of wellness addicts with impossibly shiny hair, who whirl from juice cleanse to overpriced miracle vitamins to spin class with limitless energy.
 
There is perfect hostess Whitney who is on the brink of social-media stardom and just needs to find a way to keep her flawless life from falling apart. Caustically funny, recent stay-at-home mom Amara who is struggling to embrace her new identity. And old money, veteran mom Gwen who never misses an opportunity to dole out parenting advice. But as Claire grows closer to the stylish women who pay her bills, she uncovers secrets and betrayals that no amount of activated charcoal can fix.
 
Filled with humor and shocking twists, Happy and You Know It is a brilliant take on motherhood – exposing it as yet another way for society to pass judgment on women – while also exploring the baffling magnetism of curated social-media lives that are designed to make us feel unworthy. But, ultimately, this dazzling novel celebrates the unlikely bonds that form, and the power that can be unlocked, when a group of very different women is thrown together when each is at her most vulnerable.

Genre: General Fiction

Praise for this book

"Laura Hankin balances a sharp eye for the mad dynamics of a high-stakes playgroup with warm understanding of the occasional desperation of new motherhood. This book is bracing, fresh, and hilarious, like sticking your head in a freezer on a hot day." - Judy Blundell

"A juicy look at how the other half lives, Happy and You Know It is a page-turning treat in the tradition of The Nanny Diaries and Momzillas. This story of social-climbing and dark secrets heralds a delightful new voice in women's fiction." - Jamie Brenner

"Hankin has concocted a delicious, rollicking story that features a captivating ensemble of cosmopolitan moms and a down-on-her-luck musician who's paid to entertain their kids. Packed with laughs and unexpected twists, think Liane Moriarty meets Sex and the City--simply irresistible." - Fiona Davis

"The perfect mix of frothy fun, twisty mystery and social satire, Happy and Your Know It is a guilty pleasure of a book that is impossible to put down. Laura Hankin creates complex characters with lives that, like their Instagram feeds, are never as they seem. This is the summer read for book clubs, beachgoers and playgroup moms everywhere." - Kristy Woodson Harvey

"Combines wry humor and sharp social commentary with an utterly addictive plot. It’s nonstop fun, and I couldn’t put it down." - Katharine McGee

"A skillful unraveling of desperate secrets and self-deceptions. Witty, unsettling, and all-too-believable. I raced through to the end." - Emma Rous

"An engrossing and compelling story of what would happen if the women from The Nanny Diaries men the women from Sex and the City in the social media age." - Jill Santopolo

"Imagine if your hilarious best friend told you a really juicy story about a gaggle of rich new mothers While also delivering a sharp commentary about the expectations put on women. That is this book. Bonus for the excellent twist you won't be expecting. Put it on your list, kids." - Stephanie Wrobel


Similar books by other authors

thumb
The Nantucket Inn
(Beach Plum Cove, book 1)
Pamela Kelley

Used availability for Laura Hankin's Happy and You Know It

Hardback Editions

May 2020 : Hardback
thumb

Title: Happy and You Know It
Author(s): Laura Hankin
ISBN: 1-984806-23-8 / 978-1-984806-23-9
Publisher: Berkley
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

May 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Happy and You Know It
Author(s): Laura Hankin
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon   


May 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Happy and You Know It
Author(s): Laura Hankin
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


May 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Happy and You Know It
Author(s): Laura Hankin
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


May 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Happy and You Know It
Author(s): Laura Hankin
Publisher: Penguin Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

May 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Happy and You Know It
Author(s): Laura Hankin
Publisher: Berkley
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU