book cover of The Invincible Miss Cust
Added by 5 members
 

The Invincible Miss Cust

(2022)
A novel by

 
 
"I loved The Invincible Miss Cust. From Ireland to France, I enjoyed every moment of Aleen Cust's unpredictable journey. What a remarkable woman—and what an enthralling story!" —Janet Skeslien Charles, New York Times bestselling author of The Paris Library

Must-read historical fiction for fans of Marie Benedict and Tracey Enerson Wood, based on the real life of Britain's first woman veterinary surgeon.

Aleen Cust has big dreams. And no one—not her family, society, or the law—will stop her.

Born in Ireland in 1868 to an aristocratic English family, Aleen knows she is destined to work with animals, even if her family is appalled by the idea of a woman pursuing a veterinary career. Going against their wishes but with the encouragement of the guardian assigned to her upon her father's death, Aleen attends the New Veterinary College in Edinburgh, enrolling as A. I. Custance to spare her family the humiliation they fear. At last, she is on her way to becoming a veterinary surgeon! Little does she know her biggest obstacles lie ahead.

The Invincible Miss Cust is based on the real life of Aleen Isabel Cust, who defied her family and society to become Britain and Ireland's first woman veterinary surgeon. Through Penny Haw's meticulous research, riveting storytelling, and elegant prose, Aleen's story of ambition, determination, family, friendship, and passion comes to life. It is a story that, even today, women will recognize, of battling patriarchy and an unequal society to realize one's dreams and pave the way for other women in the face of seemingly insurmountable odds.

More Praise for The Invincible Miss Cust:

"I loved this gripping and inspirational book! Her courage and independence of spirit shine through on every beautifully-written page as she faces life's triumphs and tragedies." —Fiona Valpy, bestselling author of The Dressmaker's Gift

"The Invincible Miss Cust is an absolute delight, an exceptional, immersive work of historical fiction set amid the beautifully detailed landscapes of Ireland and England." —Jennifer Chiaverini, New York Times bestselling author of Switchboard Soldiers



Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"A skillfully told story of an extraordinary woman's grit, determination, and devotion to her dream. Detailed and evocative, The Invincible Miss Cust is an engrossing read." - Shana Abé

"A vivid, compelling story of a daring and determined woman. Emotionally rich and bringing light to an incredible life and legacy, you won't want to miss this inspiring novel of England's first female veterinary surgeon." - Audrey Blake

"I loved The Invincible Miss Cust. What a remarkable woman - and what an enthralling story!" - Janet Skeslien Charles

"The Invincible Miss Cust is an absolute delight, an exceptional, immersive work of historical fiction set amid the beautifully detailed landscapes of Ireland and England." - Jennifer Chiaverini

"A fascinating true story of a woman determined to become a veterinarian in the early 1900s. Aleen Cust is everything I love in a heroine: fiery, determined, confident, and smart. No matter what life threw at her, Aleen continued to pursue her passion. We could all learn a thing or two from Aleen Cust." - Martha Conway

"An amazing story! The Invincible Miss Cust introduces readers to Aleen Cust, Britain and Ireland's first female veterinary surgeon, and we are better for the acquaintance. Haw's descriptive prose and deft characterizations lead us through Cust's remarkable life, setbacks and triumphs, and leaves us in awe of her perseverance, determination, and loyalty." - Katherine Reay

"A gripping story of one woman's unrelenting quest to treat and care for our four-legged friends. Readers will be rooting for Aleen as she comes up against and triumphs over a mountain of obstacles. A must-read for all animal lovers." - Renée Rosen

"The Invincible Miss Cust is the gripping true story of a young woman who dreams of becoming a veterinary surgeon. Aleen Cust is a determined free spirit whose love for animals surpasses the challenges and hardships faced by a woman pursuing a profession in the 1890's, a time when women were rarely allowed to dream of an education or a career. Readers of James Herriot will find this a delightful, inspiring read." - Julia Bryan Thomas

"Penny Haw takes us deep into the heart and choices of Aleen Cust, who defied convention to become Britain's first woman veterinary surgeon. A vivid, beautifully written, and compelling novel." - Louisa Treger

"I loved this gripping and inspirational book! Her courage and independence of spirit shine through on every beautifully-written page as she faces life's triumphs and tragedies." - Fiona Valpy

"In a world where women are relegated to needlepoint and parlor chairs, Aleen sets her sights on barns and veterinary surgery. Her journey to become the impossible is inspiring, heartwarming, and ultimately triumphant." - Lisa Wingate

"Haw's crisp prose, engaging narrative, and thoughtful storytelling (not to mention her clear love of animals, ) seamlessly blends fact and fiction to immerse the reader in the innermost world of the fiercely independent and indomitable Aleen Cust. This work of historical fiction is a powerful portrait of an inspiring woman whose stubborn determination and passion for her calling drove her to defy her family's wishes, stand up to the sexist norms of society, and take the reins of her own life no matter the cost. Bravo!" - Samantha Greene Woodruff


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Penny Haw's The Invincible Miss Cust


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors