Martha Conway's picture

Martha Conway

Martha Conways latest novel, Thieving Forest, was awarded a Silver Medal (Historical Fiction) in the Independent Publishers Book Awards, and is the 2014 North American Book Awards winner in Historical Fiction. It has been called extraordinary by the Akron Beacon Journal and hypnotic by Kirkus Reviews. Her first novel 12 Bliss Street was nominated for an Edgar Award, and her short fiction has appeared in The Iowa Review, The Mississippi Review, The Quarterly, The Carolina Quarterly, and other publications. She has reviewed fiction for the San Francisco Chronicle and The Iowa Review, and is a recipient of a California Arts Council fellowship in Creative Writing.

Genres: Historical
   12 Bliss Street (2003)
   Thieving Forest (2014)
   Sugarland (2016)
   The Floating Theatre (2017)
   The Underground River (2017)
   The Physician's Daughter (2022)
Martha Conway recommends
Crow Mary (2023)
Kathleen Grissom
"I fell into the world of Crow Mary utterly and completely. It's a superbly spun tale about a life that deserves to be told."
The Invincible Miss Cust (2022)
Penny Haw
"A fascinating true story of a woman determined to become a veterinarian in the early 1900s. Aleen Cust is everything I love in a heroine: fiery, determined, confident, and smart. No matter what life threw at her, Aleen continued to pursue her passion. We could all learn a thing or two from Aleen Cust."
The Aloha Spirit (2020)
Linda Ulleseit
"The Aloha Spirit is heartbreaking and hopeful, with a story as rugged and beautiful as the landscape. Linda Ulleseit has written a wonderfully immersive story, with prose so vivid I could practically feel the ocean breezes on every page."

More recommendations 

Visitors also looked at these authors

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors