book cover of Bitter

Bitter

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
It's 1969, and the summer of love still lingers in London, but Gilda is haunted by her wartime past. She walked out on her son, Reuben, when he was just a boy and fears he'll never forgive her. When he marries a small, blonde gentile, she takes it as the ultimate rejection. Her cold, distant son seems transformed by love. What does his new wife have that she doesn't?

As Gilda's obsession builds, she starts to follow her daughter-in-law, copies her hairstyle and breaks into the newlyweds' home. Watching her son and his wife stumble through their first few months of marriage, she is forced to reflect on how she ended up so alone. And when new and shocking truths come to light, she has the opportunity to put the past to rest. She must decide between doing what is right and the tantalising prospect of revenge.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Compelling and, in places, heartbreaking. A beautiful portrait of a mother's love." - Joanna Barnard

"Gloriously sinister and yet, when you least expect it, quietly heartbreaking. Brilliant." - Nicci Cloke

"A moving, powerful story of love, obsession, guilt, lies and the lengths we'll go to for a second chance." - Tammy Cohen

"Bitter, yes, but also sweet -- and moving, and searching, and quietly devastating: a novel to detonate the heart. Steep yourself in this exquisite story. You won't regret it, and you won't forget it. Fans of Gail Honeyman and Joanna Cannon will love Bitter." - A J Finn

"Brilliantly paced, moving, thoughtful and sharp. Loved it." - Renée Knight

"A beautiful, poignant and - at times - unsettling insight into motherhood: its triumphs and disappointments but, above all, its power to transform relationships. I loved it." - Elisa Lodato

"This is an original and heartbreaking novel - beautifully written with such a powerful voice. I couldn't put it down." - Chloë Mayer

"I hated Gilda at first, her judgemental, mean spirited view of the world. She seemed to be the kind of person I would run from at parties. Then, as time went on, this woman felt no longer bitter, but like someone I had come to love. Such clever storytelling . . . By the end I was running towards the finish line, desperate to see her come through." - Amanda Smyth


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Francesca Jakobi's Bitter

Hardback Editions

March 2018 : UK Hardback
thumb

Title: Bitter
Author(s): Francesca Jakobi
ISBN: 1-4746-0756-X / 978-1-4746-0756-8 (UK edition)
Publisher: W&N
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


February 2019 : UK Hardback

Title: Bitter
Author(s): Francesca Jakobi
ISBN: 1-4448-3997-7 / 978-1-4448-3997-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: Charnwood
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


Paperback Editions

October 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Bitter
Author(s): Francesca Jakobi
ISBN: 1-4746-0758-6 / 978-1-4746-0758-2 (UK edition)
Publisher: W&N
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2018 : UK Paperback
thumb

Title: Bitter
Author(s): Francesca Jakobi
ISBN: 1-4746-0757-8 / 978-1-4746-0757-5 (UK edition)
Publisher: W&N
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

June 2018 : UK Audio CD

Title: Bitter
Author(s): Francesca Jakobi
ISBN: 1-78706-812-9 / 978-1-78706-812-4 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Limited
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


June 2018 : UK Audio CD

Title: Bitter
Author(s): Francesca Jakobi
ISBN: 1-78706-776-9 / 978-1-78706-776-9 (UK edition)
Publisher: Oakhill Publishing Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Bitter
Author(s): Francesca Jakobi
Publisher: Orion Publishing Group Limited
Availability: Amazon   


March 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: Bitter
Author(s): Francesca Jakobi
Publisher: Orion Publishing Group Limited
Availability: Amazon AU   


March 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Bitter
Author(s): Francesca Jakobi
Publisher: Orion Publishing Group Limited
Availability: Amazon CA   


March 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: Bitter
Author(s): Francesca Jakobi
Publisher: Orion Publishing Group Limited
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

March 2018 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Bitter: A novel to detonate the heart, gripping, moving and unforgettable
Author(s): Francesca Jakobi
Publisher: Weidenfeld & Nicolson
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


March 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Bitter: A novel to detonate the heart, gripping, moving and unforgettable
Author(s): Francesca Jakobi
Publisher: Weidenfeld & Nicolson
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU