book cover of And Then You Were Gone
Added by 7 of our members

And Then You Were Gone

(2019)
A novel by

 
 
For fans of B. A. Paris and Mary Kubica comes a propulsive, twisting psychological thriller that asks, How can you save someone else if you can't save yourself?

After years of learning how to manage her bipolar disorder, Emily Firestone finally has it under control. Even better, her life is coming together: she's got a great job, her own place, and a boyfriend, Paolo, who adores her. So when Paolo suggests a weekend sailing trip, Emily agrees - wine, water, and the man she loves? What could be better? But when Emily wakes the morning after they set sail, the boat is still adrift ... and Paolo is gone.

A strong swimmer, there's no way Paolo drowned, but Emily is at a loss for any other explanation. Where else could he have gone? And why? As the hours and days pass by, each moment marking Paolo's disappearance, Emily's hard-won stability begins to slip.

But when Emily uncovers evidence suggesting Paolo was murdered, the investigation throws her mania into overdrive, even as she becomes a person of interest in her own personal tragedy. To clear her name, Emily must find the truth - but can she hold onto her own sanity in the process?

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Unnerving and with a building sense of dread, And Then You Were Gone is a high-stakes, disorienting thrill ride." - Sarah Bailey

"And Then You Were Gone captivates readers…pulling you headfirst into a terrifying disappearance that quickly derails the life of an irresistible and freshly-drawn main character. It will keep you turning page after page, with racing heart, toward the satisfying finish. Highly recommended!" - E C Diskin

"Compelling, satisfying, and clever, this book has all the elements of a good mystery, plus a wonderfully complicated, flawed protagonist. And Then You Were Gone will keep you reading - and leave you wanting more!" - Wylene Dunbar

"R. J. Jacobs cleverly combines a tightly plotted thriller with a who-can-you-trust cast of characters in this sensational debut." - Dawn Eastman

"A steep-dive roller coaster ride...Get on board but hang on!." - Karen Harper

"A thrilling ride that kept me guessing until the end . . . Exceptional!" - Rena Olsen

"Rich characterizations, exquisite language, and a subtle thrum of tension . . . In Emily Firestone, Jacobs has created not just a heroine, but a fully realized person whose bipolar disorder is sensitively and realistically handled. I was riveted from the very first page." - Jaden Terrell

"A gripping psychological thriller filled with suspenseful twists and turns!" - Brad Thor

"Jacobs has crafted a live-wire of a debut. Fever-pitch prose reveals the untrustworthy nature of our perceptions, and a taut, unflinching plot makes putting this book down absolutely impossible." - P J Vernon


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for R J Jacobs's And Then You Were Gone

Hardback Editions

March 2019 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: And Then You Were Gone: A Novel
Author(s): R J Jacobs
ISBN: 1-68331-959-1 / 978-1-68331-959-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

March 2020 : Canada Paperback

Title: And Then You Were Gone: A Novel
Author(s): R J Jacobs
ISBN: 1-4434-5775-2 / 978-1-4434-5775-0 (Canada edition)
Publisher: Harper Perennial
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2019 : Canada Paperback
thumb

Title: And Then You Were Gone: A Novel
Author(s): R J Jacobs
ISBN: 1-4434-5773-6 / 978-1-4434-5773-6 (Canada edition)
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


Audio Editions

March 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: And Then You Were Gone
Author(s): R J Jacobs
ISBN: 1-982628-57-X / 978-1-982628-57-4
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


March 2019 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: And Then You Were Gone: A Novel
Author(s): R J Jacobs
ISBN: 1-982628-58-8 / 978-1-982628-58-1
Publisher: Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2019 : MP3 CD
thumb

Title: And Then You Were Gone: A Novel
Author(s): R J Jacobs
ISBN: 1-982628-59-6 / 978-1-982628-59-8
Publisher: Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2019 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: And Then You Were Gone: A Novel
Author(s): R J Jacobs
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon   


March 2019 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: And Then You Were Gone: A Novel
Author(s): R J Jacobs
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon CA   


March 2019 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: And Then You Were Gone: A Novel
Author(s): R J Jacobs
Publisher: Blackstone Publishing
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

April 2019 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: And Then You Were Gone: the compulsive psychological thriller 'that takes hold and won't let go'
Author(s): R J Jacobs
Publisher: Headline
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


March 2019 : USA, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: And Then You Were Gone: A Novel
Author(s): R J Jacobs
Publisher: Crooked Lane Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


March 2019 : Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: And Then You Were Gone: A Novel
Author(s): R J Jacobs
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
Availability: Amazon CA