book cover of Children of the Sun
Added by 3 members
 

Children of the Sun

(2023)
A novel by

 
 


HOW FAR WOULD YOU GO FOR A SECOND CHANCE?


*THE SUN'S 5* PICK OF THE WEEK*

FOR FANS OF EMMA CLINE, BLAKE CROUCH AND RILEY SAGER COMES CHILDREN OF THE SUN - THE CULT NOVEL THAT EVERYONE IS RAVING ABOUT.

'Gripping'
HEAT
'Dazzling'
CRIME MONTHLY
'A cult novel with a difference'
GUARDIAN
'If you love
Stranger Things, read Children of the Sun' STYLIST
'Lewis does an excellent job of ratcheting up the tension'
DAILY TELEGRAPH
'Chilling, moving and original . . . I loved it'
CHRIS WHITAKER

*****

Summer 1982. Deep in the wilderness, over three hundred people live off-grid in a secret community. Founded by the enigmatic Sol, Atlas is a refuge for broken souls who believe they will soon cross into another world where their past decisions never ended in tragedy.

James Morrow is a rookie New York City reporter who secures an invitation to the camp on the condition he tell the world of its wonders. Although he's sceptical, James understands better than most the desperate nature of their beliefs.


But James soon finds there is a darker side to the cult beyond the prayers and yellow robes. A group of children are treated like gods, there are iron strips embedded in the earth, and nobody talks about what's behind the gates of Sol's private sanctuary.

As the final ceremony draws near, James must ask himself, what will it cost to reach this other life?
And is that a price he's willing to pay?
WHAT READERS ARE SAYING:
'I would give this book ten stars if I could . . . Incredibly clever . . . Heartbreakingly perfect'
'This was an incredible read . . . I loved it'
'Beth Lewis never fails to grab my attention and hold it for every single bit of every single page of her books. This one was no different'
'A really interesting, gripping read'




Genre: Horror

Praise for this book

"Beautifully written, unique, and utterly unforgettable." - Louise Beech

"A really original and captivating book, with atmospheric writing that immediately drew me in. Full of mystery and tension, with clever twists and reveals, all building to a surprising yet satisfying ending." - Philippa East

"Clever and chilling. Engaging characters and setting. And a scary cult. What more could you ask for?" - Michael J Malone

"A brilliant, clever and addictive story with characters you really root for. I couldn't put it down." - Carly Reagon

"A beautifully crafted mystery that asks if we ever truly get a second chance, CHILDREN OF THE SUN plays brilliantly with the reader's assumptions, building in atmosphere and emotion towards an ending that changes everything." - Catriona Silvey

"Children of the Sun is that rare thing - an utterly propulsive, heart-pounding, pacy narrative, with the kind of depth and resonance that makes it linger in the mind long after you've finished reading . . . A beautifully wrought and haunting tale." - Cailean Steed

"Beth Lewis excels at turning her characters' best intentions into a destructive force that ultimately threatens their very lives. Vividly painted and laced with Americana, this haunting, unpredictable story leaves the reader racing through the pages to find the truth. A riveting, eerie and impossibly captivating novel." - Inga Vesper

"A captivating depiction of love and loss and the lengths we will go to start again." - Sophie Ward

"Dazzling, chilling, moving and original. CHILDREN OF THE SUN defies genre in a way that is both fresh, and now to be expected from the brilliant Beth Lewis. I loved it." - Chris Whitaker


Visitors also looked at these books


Used availability for Beth Lewis's Children of the Sun


About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors