book cover of The Push
Added by 73 of our members

The Push

(2020)
A novel by

 
 
From the bestselling author of What You Did comes a stunning psychological thriller. One party. Thirteen people. By 3.02 p.m., one of them will be dead.

The party should have been perfect: six couples from the same baby group, six newborns, a luxurious house. But not everything has gone to plan, and while some are here to celebrate, others have sorrows to drown. When someone falls from the balcony of the house, the secrets and conflicts within the group begin to spill out …

DS Alison Hegarty, herself struggling with infertility, is called in to investigate. She’s convinced the fall was not an accident, and finds the new parents have a lot to hide. Wealthy Ed and Monica show off their newborn while their teenage daughter is kept under virtual house arrest. Hazel and Cathy conceived their longed-for baby via an anonymous sperm donor—or so Hazel thinks. Anita and Jeremy planned to adopt from America, but there’s no sign of the child. Kelly, whose violent boyfriend disrupted previous group sessions, came to the party even though she lost her baby. And then there’s Jax, who’s been experiencing strange incidents for months—almost like someone’s out to get her. Is it just a difficult pregnancy? Or could it be payback for something she did in the past?

It’s a nightmare of a case, and as events get even darker it begins to look impossible. Only one thing is clear: they all have something to hide. And for one of them, it’s murder.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"What a nail-biting, just-one-more-page-I-can’t-put-it-down rollercoaster of suspense!" - Steph Broadribb

"I loved this story. The flesh-and-blood characters, dry wit, and brilliant plotting are every bit as enjoyable as Big Little Lies." - Louise Candlish

"I haven’t flown though a book so quickly in a very long time. It delivers on single every level." - Caz Frear

"A perfectly-plotted murder mystery had me hooked from the first page. Twisty domestic suspense that’s perfect for fans of Big Little Lies." - Lisa Gray

"Smart, sassy, and satisfyingly twisty." - Sarah Hilary

"The definition of an utterly absorbing page turner. Richly drawn out characters, a compelling plot, and a finale that will keep you guessing." - John Marrs

"A brilliantly-observed and compelling thriller." - Anna Mazzola

"Huge fun with some very dark moments and brilliantly awful characters. Excellent, twisty plotting." - Harriet Tyce


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Claire McGowan's The Push

Paperback Editions

November 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Push
Author(s): Claire McGowan
ISBN: 1-5420-1999-0 / 978-1-5420-1999-6 (USA edition)
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

November 2020 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Push
Author(s): Claire McGowan
ISBN: 1-71354-715-5 / 978-1-71354-715-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   


November 2020 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Push
Author(s): Claire McGowan
ISBN: 1-71354-716-3 / 978-1-71354-716-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


November 2020 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Push
Author(s): Claire McGowan
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   


November 2020 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Push
Author(s): Claire McGowan
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


November 2020 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Push
Author(s): Claire McGowan
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


November 2020 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Push
Author(s): Claire McGowan
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

November 2020 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Push
Author(s): Claire McGowan
Publisher: Thomas & Mercer
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU