book cover of Weave a Circle Round

Weave a Circle Round

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
Awards
Andre Norton Award Best Book (nominee)
Discover your inner child once again in this debut fantasy adventure for fans of Madeleine L'Engle, Diana Wynne Jones, and E. L. Konigsburg.

Freddy doesn't want people to think she's weird. Her family makes that difficult, though: her deaf stepbrother Roland's a major geek, and her genius little sister Mel's training to be the next Sherlock Holmes. All Freddy wants is to survive high school.

Then two extremely odd neighbors move in next door.

Cuerva Lachance and Josiah definitely aren't normal. Neither is their house, which defies the laws of physics. Neither is Freddy's situation, when she suddenly finds herself stuck thousands of years in the past with her very, very weird neighbors. And that's only the beginning.

Genre: Young Adult Fantasy

Praise for this book

"Reminiscent of Diana Wynne Jones, what starts out as the simple tale of some wacky neighbors soon takes a far more epic turn, as Maaren leads you deep into the heart of her own fascinating mythology. Maaren understands the power of stories and the danger of them, too." - Marie Brennan

"Congratulations, dear reader - you've just rolled a 2o! Weave A Circle Round is a trope-defying, endlessly entertaining romp. Maaren's wry sense of humour and crisp prose make this refreshing tale of destinies gone haywire an absolute must-read." - Charlene Challenger

"Kari Maaren's Weave a Circle Round is deeply engaging, wildly imaginative, and frequently mindbending. Its central mystery grows ever more perplexing as the book hurtles toward its remarkable climax, with final pages that will have readers turning back to the beginning to see how the author has indeed woven her enchanted circle." - Bruce Coville

"I adored this brilliant book from start to finish. It left me reeling with delight and I can't wait for the rest of the world to get as lost in its pages as I was." - Charles de Lint

"In Weave a Circle Round, fourteen year old Freddy Duchamp is sent hurtling through human history, caught in time with a boy she barely knows and cannot trust. How can she find out who Josiah is, what he's hiding, and whether he poses a threat to her family? She can't even get back to the twenty-first century and her horribly boring high school English class! Kari Maaren's witty, cliche-skewering debut novel is a vivid picture of a blended family in turmoil, an intricate temporal puzzle box, and a grand adventure." - A M Dellamonica

"Kari Maaren's Weave a Circle Round is a delightful debut sure to enchant young adults and older ones who appreciate their literature. It rings many of the same chimes as The Phantom Tollbooth and A Wrinkle in Time, with a few notes charmingly reminiscent of Monty Python, while singing its own intriguing song. Maaren demonstrates impressive respect for both her characters and her readers, weaving challenging concepts (Kublai Khan?!] into accessible, fun dialogue and narration. I found myself feeling the same excitement I first experienced upon reading time-travel tales long ago, which is a magical thing indeed." - Elizabeth Haydon

"Weave a Circle Round is a marvelous, brainy romp throughhistory and myth. This is a true puzzle-box of a story, as fun to solve as it is to read." - Sarah Henstra

"Weave a Circle Round draws the reader down a crooked pathway full of sharp turns and daunting obstacles. The thought-provoking story engages both heart and mind as we live every challenge with Freddy and her unusual companions. A real box of surprises, this novel deserves to become a YA classic." - Juliet Marillier

"Impossible sand, unfinished poems, Vikings, borks, dangerous deities, grade 9: Freddy Duchamp encounters all of these and more in the headlong adventure that is The House on Grosvenor Street. In Freddy, Kari Maaren has created an unforgettable, totally unique character: wry and scared, lonely and stubborn, angry and hopeful--but above all, determined to solve the mysteries she stumbles over, again and again, as she flits through time. The biggest mystery of them all is how she fits in--and the solution is as surprising as it is satisfying. This is a wonderful debut novel. I can't wait for Maaren's next." - Caitlin Sweet

"I'd have loved this book when I was twelve, and I love it now." - Jo Walton


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Noumenon
(Noumenon, book 1)
Marina J Lostetter
thumb
The City of Brass
(Daevabad Trilogy, book 1)
S A Chakraborty

Used availability for Kari Maaren's Weave a Circle Round

Paperback Editions

November 2017 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Weave a Circle Round: A Novel
Author(s): Kari Maaren
ISBN: 0-7653-8628-3 / 978-0-7653-8628-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Tor Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

November 2017 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Weave a Circle Round: A Novel
Author(s): Kari Maaren
ISBN: 1-5384-8653-9 / 978-1-5384-8653-5
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


November 2017 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Weave a Circle Round: Library Edition
Author(s): Kari Maaren
ISBN: 1-5384-8652-0 / 978-1-5384-8652-8
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


November 2017 : MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Weave a Circle Round
Author(s): Kari Maaren
ISBN: 1-5384-8654-7 / 978-1-5384-8654-2
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


November 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Weave a Circle Round
Author(s): Kari Maaren
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon   


November 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Weave a Circle Round
Author(s): Kari Maaren
Publisher: Blackstone Audio, Inc.
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

November 2017 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Weave a Circle Round: A Novel
Author(s): Kari Maaren
Publisher: Tor Books
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU