book cover of Silent Lies

Silent Lies

(Heart of Lies)
(The first book in the Leo Hoffman series)
A novel by

Leo Hoffman was born with a gift for languages. When his dreams for the future are destroyed by World War I, the dashing young Hungarian attempts to use his rare talent to rebuild his life, only to find himself inadvertently embroiled in an international counterfeiting scheme. Suddenly Leo is wanted across the European continent for a host of crimes, including murder. Left with no options, he must escape to Shanghai with his lover, carrying with him a stolen treasure that could be his salvation . . . or his death warrant. But the gangsters who control the decadent Asian city have no intention of letting him outrun his past. And when the Japanese invade, one wrong move could cost Leo Hoffman everything he holds dear.

An epic tale of intrigue, passion, and adventure, Heart of Lies heralds the arrival of a remarkable writer.

Genre: Historical

Praise for this book

"A sweeping saga... Brilliantly researched and beautifully written." - Karen White

Similar books by other authors

From the Ashes
(Berlin Fractured, book 1)
Marion Kummerow
Beasts From The Dark
(Brothers Of The Sands, book 3)
Robert Low

Used availability for M L Malcolm's Silent Lies

Paperback Editions

June 2010 : USA Paperback

Title: Heart of Lies: A Novel
Author(s): M L Malcolm
ISBN: 0-06-196218-X / 978-0-06-196218-9 (USA edition)
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   

June 2008 : USA Paperback

Title: Silent Lies
Author(s): M L Malcolm
ISBN: 0-9815726-1-8 / 978-0-9815726-1-1 (USA edition)
Publisher: Good Read Publishing
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   

Kindle Editions

May 2010 : USA Kindle edition

Title: Heart of Lies: A Novel
Author(s): M L Malcolm
Publisher: HarperCollins e-books
Availability: Amazon