Shena Mackay's picture

Shena Mackay

Scotland (b.1944)

Shena Mackay was born in Edinburgh in 1944. She left school at the age of 16 after winning a poetry competition in the Daily Mirror. Her first book, published in 1964 but written when she was still a teenager, consists of two novellas, Dust Falls on Eugene Schlumburger and Toddler on the Run. Her first novel, Music Upstairs (1965), is set in London in the early 1960s.

There was a break in her writing between the novel An Advent Calendar published in 1971 and the collection of short stories Babies in Rhinestones and Other Stories, published in 1983. The novel A Bowl of Cherries (1984) was published by Harvester Press, a small independent publisher in Brighton, on the recommendation of the novelist Iris Murdoch.
Anthologies edited
Anthologies containing stories by Shena Mackay
Short stories
Curry at the Laburnums (1976)

The Man Booker Prize Best Novel nominee (1996) : The Orchard on Fire
Baileys Women's Prize for Fiction Best Book nominee (2003) : Heligoland
Whitbread Prize Best Novel nominee (2003) : Heligoland

Shena Mackay recommends
Good Clean Fun (2004)
Michael Arditti
"The diverse, urbane stories here ARE good, some of them are fun, and others are far from clean."
The Mysteries of Glass (2004)
Sue Gee
"Profound and lyrical, it's full of light and darkness and the most marvellous description."
Never the Bride (2006)
(Brenda, book 1)
Paul Magrs
"A brilliant extravaganza, gripping, ingeniously plotted, and tragically funny, with unforgettable characters."
Rainsongs (2018)
Sue Hubbard
"A compelling story, freighted with heartbreak and loss."

Visitors to this page also looked at these authors