Magdalen Nabb's picture
Author photo by Dirk Vogel.
102 books added

Magdalen Nabb

UK flag (1947 - 2007)

MAGDALEN NABB was born in Lancashire in 1947 and trained as a potter. In 1975 she abandoned pottery, sold her home and her car, and came to Florence with her son, knowing nobody and speaking no Italian. She has lived there ever since, and pursues a dual career as crime writer and children's author.

She has written fourteen crime novels featuring Marshal Guarnaccia of the carabinieri, all set in Florence, which she describes as 'a very secret city. Walk down any residential street and you have no idea what is going on behind those blank walls. It's a problem the Marshal comes up against all the time.'

Magdalen Nabb also writes the immensely successful Josie Smith books, set in her native Lancashire, which form the basis of the Granada children's TV series, Josie Smith, scripted by the author. Her first book, Josie Smith, was runner-up for the Guardian Children's Fiction Award in 1989, and in l99l, Josie Smith and Eileen was winner of the prestigious Smarties Book Prize for the 6-8 age group.

Genres: Mystery
Marshal Guarnaccia
   1. Death of an Englishman (1981)
   2. Death of a Dutchman (1982)
   3. Death in Springtime (1983)
   4. Death in Autumn (1985)
   5. The Marshal and the Murderer (1987)
   6. The Marshal and the Madwoman (1988)
   7. The Marshal's Own Case (1990)
   8. The Marshal Makes His Report (1991)
   9. The Marshal at the Villa Torrini (1993)
   10. The Monster of Florence (1996)
   11. Property of Blood (2001)
   12. Some Bitter Taste (2002)
   13. The Innocent (2005)
   14. Vita Nuova (2008)
   The Prosecutor (1986) (with Paolo Vaheggi)
   The Enchanted Horse (1992)
   Twilight Ghost (2002)

About Fantastic Fiction       Information for Authors