book cover of A Dangerous Duet
Added by 3 of our members

A Dangerous Duet

(2018)
A novel by

 
 
This dazzling new Victorian mystery from USA Today best-selling author Karen Odden introduces listeners to Nell Hallam, a determined young pianist who stumbles upon the operations of a notorious - and deadly - crime ring while illicitly working as the piano player in a Soho music hall. Perfect for fans of Tasha Alexander, Anne Perry, and Deanna Raybourn.

Nineteen-year-old Nell Hallam lives in a modest corner of Mayfair with her brother, Matthew, an inspector at Scotland Yard. An exceptionally talented pianist, she aspires to attend the Royal Academy; but with tuition beyond their means, Nell sets out to earn the money herself - by playing piano in a popular Soho music hall. The fact that she will have to disguise herself as a man and slip out at night to do it doesn't deter her.

Spending evenings at the Octavian is like entering an alternate world, one of lively energy, fascinating performers, raucous patrons - and dark secrets. And when Nell stumbles upon the operations of an infamous crime ring working in the shadows of the music hall, she is drawn into a conspiracy that stretches the length of London. To further complicate matters, she has begun to fall for the hall owner's charismatic son, Jack, who has secrets of his own.

The more Nell becomes a part of the Octavian's world, the more she risks the relationships with the people she loves. When another performer is left for dead in an alley as a warning, she realizes her future could be in jeopardy in more ways than one.

Genre: Historical Mystery

Praise for this book

"A captivating tale of mystery, history, and a dash of romance—with an ahead-of-her-time heroine who not only plays the piano with aplomb, but defies Victorian conventions, courts danger, and solves mysteries. Nell Hallam is a heroine to root for." - Susan Elia MacNeal

"Historical fiction with a sinister twist and an engaging heroine." - G M Malliet

"Enter a world of teeming and dangerous cities portrayed in vitality and amazing detail. Meet characters with tremendous courage and appetite for life, and be glad you can return at will to the present." - Anne Perry

"With a delightful and spirited heroine—and just the right blend of suspense, detection, and romance—A DANGEROUS DUET offers a vivid tapestry of Victorian England, replete with dazzling music halls, intrepid police inspectors, and a menacing underworld." - Stefanie Pintoff


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Who Speaks for the Damned
(Sebastian St. Cyr Mystery, book 15)
C S Harris
thumb
An Artless Demise
(Lady Darby Mystery, book 7)
Anna Lee Huber
thumb
A Stroke of Malice
(Lady Darby Mystery, book 8)
Anna Lee Huber

Used availability for Karen Odden's A Dangerous Duet

Paperback Editions

October 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: A Dangerous Duet: A Novel
Author(s): Karen Odden
ISBN: 0-06-279696-8 / 978-0-06-279696-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

November 2018 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: A Dangerous Duet
Author(s): Karen Odden
ISBN: 1-982552-02-6 / 978-1-982552-02-2
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


November 2018 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: A Dangerous Duet: A Novel
Author(s): Karen Odden
ISBN: 1-982552-03-4 / 978-1-982552-03-9
Publisher: HarperCollins and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


November 2018 : MP3 CD
thumb

Title: A Dangerous Duet
Author(s): Karen Odden
ISBN: 1-982552-04-2 / 978-1-982552-04-6
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


November 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Dangerous Duet: A Novel
Author(s): Karen Odden
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


November 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Dangerous Duet: A Novel
Author(s): Karen Odden
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon AU   


November 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Dangerous Duet: A Novel
Author(s): Karen Odden
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon CA   


November 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: A Dangerous Duet: A Novel
Author(s): Karen Odden
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

November 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: A Dangerous Duet: A Novel
Author(s): Karen Odden
Publisher: William Morrow Paperbacks
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU