book cover of Wonder Valley

Wonder Valley

(2017)
A novel by

 
 
Winner: 2018 Strand Critics Award for Best NovelLos Angeles Times Best Fiction Pick

NPR Best Book of 2017

Refinery29 Best Book of 2017

"Wonder Valley is destined to be a classic L.A. novel. From desert scrub to cold blue sea, it carries an eloquent yet hard-edge take on the contradictions of a place so difficult to define. It's impossible to put down." - Michael Connelly, #1 New York Times bestselling author"An LA thriller that refuses to let readers look away." - Los Angeles Times

"A mesmerizing California novel ... the ending is magnificently unexpected, almost ingenious, and the surprise factor sneaks up on you. Its subtle brilliance is just that - subtle" - Entertainment Weekly

"A vision of Southern California that is at once panoramic and intimate . . . This novel paints an unforgettable portrait of people who long, above all, for community and connection." - Edan Lepucki, author of California

"Wonder Valley seethes with the vivid, searching idea of Southern California. But as the intersecting journeys of hippie acolytes, restless hoods, lost boys and all manner of runaways converge, Pochoda enacts an aching dream of home that will possess and haunt you." - Smith Henderson, author of Fourth of July Creek

When a teenager runs away from his father's mysterious commune, he sets in motion a domino effect that connects a cast of six characters who narrate Wonder Valley.

There's Ren, just out of juvie, who travels to L.A. in search of his mother. There's Owen and James, teenage twins who live in a desert commune where their father, a self-proclaimed healer, holds a powerful sway over his disciples. There's Britt, who shows up at the commune harbouring a dark secret. There's Tony, a bored and unhappy lawyer. And there's Blake, a drifter hiding in the desert, doing his best to fight off his most violent impulses. Their lives will all intertwine and come crashing together in a shocking way, one that could only happen in this dangerous, enchanting city.

Ivy Pochoda's Wonder Valley is a masterful thriller from a writer leading a new vanguard of American crime writing, perfect for fans of Michael Connelly, Dennis Lehane, Richard Price and James Ellroy.

Genre: Literary Fiction

Praise for this book

"Destined to be a classic L.A. novel." - Michael Connelly

"Wonder Valley seethes with the vivid, searching idea of southern California. But as the intersecting journeys of hippie acolytes, restless hoods, lost boys and all manner of runaways converge, Pochoda enacts an aching dream of home that will possess and haunt you." - Smith Henderson

"A vision of Southern California that is at once panoramic and intimate. . . . This novel paints an unforgettable portrait of people who long, above all else, for community and connection." - Edan Lepucki


Similar books by other authors


Used availability for Ivy Pochoda's Wonder Valley

Hardback Editions

November 2017 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: Wonder Valley: A Novel
Author(s): Ivy Pochoda
ISBN: 0-06-265635-X / 978-0-06-265635-3 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ecco
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

September 2018 : Paperback
thumb

Title: Wonder Valley
Author(s): Ivy Pochoda
ISBN: 1-9996833-4-X / 978-1-9996833-4-4
Publisher: The Indigo Press
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


July 2018 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: Wonder Valley: A Novel
Author(s): Ivy Pochoda
ISBN: 0-06-265636-8 / 978-0-06-265636-0 (USA edition)
Publisher: Ecco
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

November 2017 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Wonder Valley: A Novel
Author(s): Ivy Pochoda
ISBN: 1-5384-5606-0 / 978-1-5384-5606-4
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


November 2017 : Audio CD
thumb

Title: Wonder Valley: Library Edition
Author(s): Ivy Pochoda
ISBN: 1-5384-5604-4 / 978-1-5384-5604-0
Publisher: Blackstone Pub
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


November 2017 : MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Wonder Valley: A Novel
Author(s): Ivy Pochoda
ISBN: 1-5384-5605-2 / 978-1-5384-5605-7
Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers and Blackstone Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   


November 2017 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: Wonder Valley: A Novel
Author(s): Ivy Pochoda
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon   


November 2017 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: Wonder Valley: A Novel
Author(s): Ivy Pochoda
Publisher: HarperAudio
Availability: Amazon CA   


Kindle Editions

September 2018 : Australia, UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Wonder Valley: 'destined to be a classic L.A. novel' Michael Connelly
Author(s): Ivy Pochoda
Publisher: The Indigo Press
Availability: Amazon UK   Amazon AU   


November 2017 : USA, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: Wonder Valley: A Novel
Author(s): Ivy Pochoda
Publisher: Ecco
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA