book cover of The Clincher
Added by 2 of our members

The Clincher

(2018)
(The first book in the Horseshoer Mystery series)
A novel by

 
 
The first book in the Horseshoer Mystery series by bestselling novelist Lisa Preston featuring farrier and amateur detective Rainy Dale, for fans of William Kent Kruger and Craig Johnson.

Rainy Dale is The Clincher, a twenty-something high school-dropout turned farrier (horseshoer) who is haunted by a secret she carries. Estranged from her California D-list actress momma and her ranch hand Texas daddy, she tracked down her childhood horse in small-town Oregon—a land full of cowboys and their horses—then stayed to build a life with her tools, steel, and forge. She's sleeping in a garage and trying not to fall for her landlord, the hapless and hopeful chef, Guy, who is determined to create the perfect soufflé while Rainy would prefer to just stuff her mouth with fuel for her physically demanding job.

As the new kid in town, Rainy has an uphill battle to prove herself in order to make a living by her trade, especially to her male clients who look down their noses at a female farrier. She finds herself in over her head, however, when one of her clients turns up dead, setting her up as both a suspect and a seeker of the truth. If she plans on setting down roots in her new town, Rainy will have to find the killer and clear her name. But it a country as wild as the mustangs that used to run free, finding the truth just might get her killed.

Genre: Mystery

Praise for this book

"Fast-paced, absorbing and fun to boot, The Clincher grabs your attention from the first paragraph and never loosens its grip. Rainy Dale?horseshoer with sass?is one of the freshest and most original sleuths to come along in mystery fiction. May she live on and on!" - Margaret Coel

"Rainy Dale - an engaging character with a unique voice who can shoe horses like nobody’s business!" - J A Jance

"Lisa Peston's The Clincher hits like a nailing hammer and won’t let go?her horseshoeing sleuth, Rainy Dale, is a new and distinctive voice in crime fiction." - Craig Johnson

"The Clincher runs at full gallop from first page to last with sharp-eyed Rainy Dale leading the charge. Lisa Preston's writing is so vivid you'll think you're sitting in the saddle and you'll finish knowing you need to see Rainy Dale ride again." - Mark Stevens


Similar books by other authors

thumb
Path of the Dead
(Arthur Nakai Mystery, book 1)
Mark Edward Langley
thumb
The Royal Wulff Murders
(Sean Stranahan Mystery, book 1)
Keith McCafferty
thumb
Death Along the Spirit Road
(Spirit Road Mystery, book 1)
C M Wendelboe
thumb
The Eagle Catcher
(Wind River Reservation mystery, book 1)
Margaret Coel

Used availability for Lisa Preston's The Clincher

Hardback Editions

November 2018 : USA Hardback
thumb

Title: The Clincher: A Horseshoer Mystery (Horseshoer Mystery Series)
Author(s): Lisa Preston
ISBN: 1-5107-3272-1 / 978-1-5107-3272-8 (USA edition)
Publisher: Skyhorse
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Paperback Editions

February 2020 : USA Paperback
thumb

Title: The Clincher: A Horseshoer Mystery (Horseshoer Mystery Series)
Author(s): Lisa Preston
ISBN: 1-950691-13-6 / 978-1-950691-13-5 (USA edition)
Publisher: Arcade Crimewise
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


Audio Editions

November 2018 : USA Audio CD
thumb

Title: The Clincher (A Horseshoer Mystery)
Author(s): Lisa Preston
ISBN: 1-5436-8058-5 / 978-1-5436-8058-4 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


November 2018 : USA MP3 CD
thumb

Title: Clincher, The (A Horseshoer Mystery)
Author(s): Lisa Preston
ISBN: 1-5436-8057-7 / 978-1-5436-8057-7 (USA edition)
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   Amazon UK   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


November 2018 : USA Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Clincher: Horseshoer Mystery Series, Book 1
Author(s): Lisa Preston
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon   


November 2018 : Australia Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Clincher: Horseshoer Mystery Series, Book 1
Author(s): Lisa Preston
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon AU   


November 2018 : Canada Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Clincher: Horseshoer Mystery Series, Book 1
Author(s): Lisa Preston
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon CA   


November 2018 : UK Audio edition
thumb

Title: The Clincher: Horseshoer Mystery Series, Book 1
Author(s): Lisa Preston
Publisher: Brilliance Audio
Availability: Amazon UK   


Kindle Editions

November 2018 : USA, Australia, Canada Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Clincher: A Horseshoer Mystery (Horseshoer Mystery Series)
Author(s): Lisa Preston
Publisher: Skyhorse
Availability: Amazon   Amazon CA   Amazon AU   


November 2018 : UK Kindle edition
thumb

Title: The Clincher: A Horseshoer Mystery (Horseshoer Mystery Series)
Author(s): Lisa Preston
Publisher: Skyhorse
Availability: Amazon UK